tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

25/12/2015 : LUKI PUKI - The Best Of 2015

LUKI PUKI

The Best Of 2015

Article
25/12/2015

Here’s Luki’s choice:

 

THE BEST RECORDS OF 2015
1. HORROR VACUI - Return Of The Empire
Every song is a solid belter you could play at a DJ night. There isn’t a lot else to say as you either like gothic rock or you don’t.

2 SALLY DIGE - Hard To Please
Sally Dige sounds amazing on this and her other project Cult Club. The songs are beautiful cold wave classics with some synth pop.

3. LEBANON HANOVER - Besides The Abyss 
Wave, goth or minimal. Whatever you call it, it’s great.

4. SHE PAST AWAY - Narin Yalnizhk 
A second super album by the Turkish superstars of goth.

5. GUITAR SLINGERS - Hellhouse Stomp 
Guitar Slingers was one of the best bands at Psychobilly Meeting this year.

6. MESSER CHUPS - Incredible Crocotiger 
Great experimental surf sounds.

THE BEST CONCERTS OF 2015
1. PSYCHOBILLY MEETING, Pineda De Mar, July 2015.
It’s hard to beat 5 days and nights of psychobilly mayhem spent on a beach at the Costa del Sol. Ladies in bikinis, a mix of new and old favorite bands, cheap sangria, guys in bikinis (mostly at the fancy dress party) Everyone’s a winner.

2. RETURN TO THE BATCAVE, Wroclaw, October 2015.
There is something of the Judge Dredd feel about a DIY goth festival in an abandoned industrial building in the middle of a load of Polish tower blocks. Mix that with a terrific selection of Batcave acts, cheap beer and cool people and it’s hard not to fall in love.

3. SALLY DIGE Stranger & Ping Pong Promotions, Cyprus Avenue, Cork, August 2015.
Cold wave heaven with songs so good the fans made her play them twice.

4. CHELSEA WOLFE - Button Factory, Dublin, November 2015.
Perfect atmospheric gothy indie to get stoned and hug a girlfriend to.

5. INGA COPELAND - Cork Jazz Festival, Experimental Stage at the Triskel October 2015.
The gig I nearly went deaf for. Electronic noise and spoken word, Throbbing Gristle would have smiled to see.

6. MORRISSEY – Dublin, The Point
There aren’t many 50 year old preachy vegetarians I look forward to spending an evening with. Trying to get the shirt Morrissey traditionally throws into the audience at the end of the show is taking your own life in your hands.

THE BEST MOVIES OF 2015
1. THE DAMNED : DON’T YOU WISH THAT WE WERE DEAD
Punk or goth, its always been hard to pigeon hole The Damned. A great if sad story about money ruining art. I hope they get all the original line up on stage for the 35th year anniversary.

2. TURBO KID
This film puts the new Mad Max to shame. Post-Apocalypse BMX comic book movie. Enough said.

3. THE VISIT
Seriously weird and unique horror film in a sea of remakes and derivative cash in movies.

4. BONE TOMAHAWK
A western cannibal survival movie to keep you up at night.

5. THE LAST KINGDOM
OK, so it’s not a film, it’s a TV show with the last Saxon king opposing the Viking invasion of Britain. It’s great.

THE BEST BOOKS OF 2015
The Art of Shrinking Heads by Dany-Robert Dufour (2013)
Pedagogy of the Oppressed by Paulo Freire (1968)


25/12/2015


Music reviews

05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!
01
05
Dark Ambient Act LONG THE NIGHT Reveals The Ominous & Melancholic Illusion
30
04
Dark Ambient Act IN THE ABSENCE OF WORDS Reveals Their Compilation, A Collection I

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight
30
04
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
God Is Dead
29
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated