tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/10/2015 : LUMINANCE - Sans Visage

LUMINANCE

Sans Visage

MusicCD
Dark ElectroMinimalNew wave

[82/100]   

Manic Depression
15/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The best tunes can be discovered in the dark catacombs of the music, it's a fact that probably will never disappear. Sans Visage by Luminance hasn’t been out of my CD-player during the last few days. You already might have heard the name, as this project of David-Alexandre Parquier (guitarist of Soror Dolorossa) is actually a discovery of Wool-E-Tapes, that released Icons & Dead Fears last year. And of course it was kind of written in the stars that their album would be released on the French label Manic Depression (the refuge of numerous goth bands).

During 36 minutes you hear excellent music, even if it is very difficult to stick a genre on it. Sometimes it's goth rock, and then it’s minimal synth wave. But whatever the label is, Luminance always has an 80"s sound, and even the best of it!

The Bleeding Eye is a brilliant electronic dirge, that floats between psychedelics and cold wave. After just ten seconds you will be addicted and it remains a challenge to not to keep on pressing that repeat button!

The Second Act is electro clash that has the rhythm of Front Line Assembly, but with the sadness of a Xymox song. Right, indeed a perfect thing!

The best track is The Grey, with oppressive dark lyrics, even if you need a magnifying glass to decipher the tiny lyrics in the booklet. If there exists a hit parade of dark tracks, then The Grey would adorn the first place for months, and yes, in the chorus you hear very well that David-Alexandre Parquier likes La Fête Triste by Trisomie 21.

If you like Weird-tunes, then you immediately have to move the laser to the sixth song because Conjure The Spell is grandiose wave.

Sans Visage is the perfect album for dark times. He who does not want to experience that, must be blind, it's up to you to decide whether you want to see it or not!

Didier BECU
15/10/2015


NL

De beste muziek ontdek je natuurlijk in de donkere catacomben, het is een gegeven dat wellicht nooit zal verdwijnen. Zo is Sans Visage van Luminance de laatste dagen niet uit mijn cd-speler verdwenen. De naam heb je zeker al eens gehoord, want dit project van David-Alexandre Parquier (de gitarist van Soror Dolorossa) is eigenlijk ook een beetje de ontdekking van Wool-E-Tapes dat vorig jaar Icons & Dead Fears uitbracht. En het stond natuurlijk ook een heel klein beetje in de sterren geschreven, dat hun cd zou worden uitgebracht op het Franse label Manic Depression (de toevluchtsoord van talrijke gothbands).

De 36 minuten durende muziek die je op dit schijfje hoort, is ronduit uitmuntend, en het is zeer moeilijk om er een genre op te kleven. Soms is het heerlijke gothrock, en dan weer minimale synthwave. Maar wat ook het etiket is, steeds klinkt Luminance zoals in de jaren 80, en nog wel als het beste daaruit!

The Bleeding Eye is een briljante elektronische klaagzang die zweeft tussen psychedelica en cold wave. Neen, maak je geen illusies, na amper tien seconden ben je verslaafd en blijft het een hele uitdaging om niet steeds de repeattoets in te drukken.

The Second Act is electroclash met het ritme van Front Line Assembly, maar met de triestheid van een Xymox-song. Juist, zoiets klinkt inderdaad perfect en dat is het ook!

Het beste nummer is The Grey dat beklemmende donkere teksten bevat, ook al heb je een loep nodig om de piepkleine lyrics in het boekje te ontcijferen. Mocht er een hitparade van donkere nummers bestaan, dan zou The Grey maandenlang op de eerste plaats prijken, en jawel, in het refrein kan je zeer goed horen dat David-Alexandre Parquier verzot is op La Fête Triste van Trisomie 21.

Wie gek is op dansbare Wierd-deuntjes, moet meteen de laser naar het zesde nummer verplaatsen, want Conjure The Spell is grandioze wave.

Sans Visage is het perfecte album voor deze donkere tijden. Wie dat niet wil ontdekken is gewoon blind, de keuze is aan u of u wilt zien of niet!

Didier BECU
15/10/2015


 

Next reviews
MIRLAND • SLEEP DISORDER
MAFF • Maff
EDITORS • In Dream
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant
BORN FOR BLISS • Falling Back To Never
ETHAN FAWKES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
YABANCI • Chaoss
SHE PAST AWAY • B52, Eernegem (11/10/2015)
SKINDRED • Volume
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Robert Zemeckis: The Walk

 

Other reviews from LUMINANCE
LUMINANCE • Coalescaremonium 2016
LUMINANCE • The Light Is Ours (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • What Time is Love?

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night