tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/10/2015 : LUSTS - Illuminations

LUSTS

Illuminations

MusicCD
Indie RockNew wavePopPost Punk

[88/100]   

1965 Records/ PIAS
02/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A good debut is of vital importance to put a band on the musical map, as the first impression always will be remembered. The British band Lusts has certainly reached that goal, as their first album Illuminations is a winner on many fronts.

The band consists of two brothers from Leicester who make wave pop with echoing guitars, often reminiscent of William Sergeant of Echo & The Bunnymen, while the singing reminds you of The Stone Roses. The influences from the Manchester scene, like say New Order, are never far away, influences that you hear a lot in other bands nowadays. Fortunately, this duo found a personal style and that results in 12 catchy songs that are dangerously addictive.

Temptation, Mouthwash and The Waves already were singles, but actually most of the songs on this debut could be singles. It must be said that everything is done well. If you want to know if they can do this on stage too, then you can check it with your own eyes and ears on October 19 at the Trix in Antwerp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/10/2015


NL

Een goed debuut is van levensbelan. Het zet een groep op de muzikale kaart en de eerste indruk blijft altijd lang hangen. De Britse band Lusts is daarin geslaagd, want hun eerste plaat Illuminations mag er gerust wezen.

De band bestaat uit twee broers uit Leicester die wavepop maken met galmende gitaren die je vaak aan William Sergeant van Echo & The Bunnymen doen denken, terwijl de zang wel iets van The Stone Roses heeft. De invloeden uit de Manchester-scene zoals bijv. New Order, zijn dan ook nooit veraf, invloeden die je tegenwoordig trouwens bij heel wat bands hoort. Gelukkig maakt dit duo er wel een eigen stijl mee, wat in 12 catchy nummers resulteert die gevaarlijk verslavend zijn.

Temptation, Moutwash en The Waves waren al singles, maar eigenlijk kunnen de meeste songs op dit debuut dat zijn. Het moet worden gezegd: alles aan dit plaatje klopt. Het heeft de goede benadering en productie gekregen. Als je wil weten of ze dit ook live kunnen waarmaken, rep je dan op 19 oktober naar de TRIX in Antwerpen om het met je eigen ogen/oren te checken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/10/2015


02/10/2015 : LUSTS - Illuminations 02/10/2015 : LUSTS - Illuminations

 

Next reviews
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
FADERHEAD • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NEW ORDER • Music Complete
WAND • 1000 Days
THE HARROW • Silhouettes
OF TANZ VICTIMS • Fighting False God
MOA PILLAR • Humanity
JACK • The Jazz Age
TERRY BICKERS (THE HOUSE OF LOVE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JESSIE JONES • Jessie Jones

 

Other reviews from LUSTS
LUSTS • Moutwash

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall