tempobet yeni adresi
like this cassette review

04/04/2017 : LUXVID - Trench

LUXVID

Trench

MusicCassette
IndustrialLo-fiSynthpop

[90/100]   

Berkana Records
04/04/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

They say that one of the old mottos used by Cabaret Voltaire in their early days was No Sound Shalt Go Untreated, as a commitment to always re-imagine every part of their sound through the use of effects and gadgets. That could also be a good way to describe the sound of Luxvid, this duo from Milwaukee (USA) formed by Stacian and Pagan Woman, that released its first album Trench on the French label Berkana Records (though the album had been originally self-released in 2015 with a slightly different track list). This is industrial in the old sense of the word. Not because it sounds similar to the first wave of industrial music, but because they fit that idea of industrial music as being 'music made mostly with heavily treated synths and drum machines'.

For example, in the amazing track Ici Unit, Luxvid builds the song with a rather simple drum pattern, synth arpeggio and melody, plus the vocals but each one of these elements is modified to make it sound slightly off-centre and unconfortable, which is especially interesting in the case of the synth arpeggios. So even though the vocal melody and structure of the song could be described almost as pop, the whole thing feels extremely alien, and yet familiar.

The same effect is achieved in tracks like Eyes Don't Meet, X, or the astonishing album opener Slow Burn. All these tracks manage to sound really murky and at the same time they're extremely catchy. The band has a talent for melody and song structure, as well as the creation of sound textures and rhythm (again, you should listen to Slow Burn to understand this).

And this is just the first album, so let's hope there's more from these guys in the not too distant future. Especially recommended for fans of Chris & Cosey, Vulgar Fashion, Boy Harsher, or early Geneva Jacuzzi.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
04/04/2017


04/04/2017 : LUXVID - Trench 04/04/2017 : LUXVID - Trench

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace