tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/05/2011 : M. OSTERMEIER - The Rules of Another Small World

M. OSTERMEIER

The Rules of Another Small World

MusicCD
DroneExperimentalJazzNeoclassical

[71/100]   
03/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Does someone remember all those brilliant records which have been released in the Made To Measure-series?

Somewhere you could say it was neoclassical with a dark touch and it was exactly that feeling I got when I heard the cd by the American composer M. Ostermeier.

This man is a bit known (in a manner of speaking) in the underground as he is the co-founder from the Words On Music-label and you also can find him in the band Should.

The solo work that Mr. M. Ostermeier is releasing can be best described as some weird mixture from electro-acoustic, neo-classical, jazz, ambient and drone.

By this, “The rules of another small world” became a breathtaking experimental piece in where the piano was making it all a bit melodic though.

A tip for anyone who likes neo-classical stuff with an experimental touch.

Take also a look at the cover from the cd which shows a picture from the desolate Taiwanese San-Zhr Pod Village.


M. Ostermeier

Didier BECU
03/05/2011


NL

Herinnert er zich nog iemand die mooie platen die ooit uitgebracht werden onder de noemer Made To Measure? Het was grotendeels rustgevende neoklassieke muziek met tegelijk een donker kantje en het was net dat gevoel die ik kreeg toen ik de cd van de Amerikaan M. Ostermeier in mijn handen kreeg.

Hij is in de undergroundwereld een beetje bekend (nou ja) omdat hij naast medeoprichter van het Words On Music-label ook nog eens lid is van de groep Should is.

Voor zijn solowerk nam de heer M. Ostermeier echter allerlei elementen van electro-akoestiek, neoklassiek, jazz, ambient en drone samen. Met deze mengeling werd tegelijkertijd “The rules of another small world” een beklijvend werkje waar je experimentele muziek hoort dat weliswaar door allerlei mooie pianoklanken melodisch overkomt.

Een zeer beklijvend werkje en aan te raden voor éénieder die van neoklassiek met een experimenteel tintje houdt.

Let ook eens op de hoes die een Taiwans dorpje, San-Zhr Pod, toont.

 

M. Ostermeier

Didier BECU
03/05/2011


 

Next reviews
CULT OF YOUTH • Cult of Youth
JULIEN SOULIER & VINCENT FALLACARA • Rapsodies Emosexuelles
MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY • Untold world
CHROMAGAIN • Any colour we liked
ANTAL SZERB • The Pendragon Legend | De Pendragonlegende
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Interplay
PAUL CHAMBERS • Stations/Absorptions
FABIO ORSI • Wo ist Behle?
MERZBOW & BALAZS PANDI • Live at Fluc Wanne, Vienna 2010/05/18
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Mohalepte

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

Music reviews

06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight