tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

15/01/2015 : MAN WITHOUT WORLD - And Then It Ends

MAN WITHOUT WORLD

And Then It Ends

MusicCassette
Minimal

[85/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
15/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the work of Jorg Bruyndonckx. Previously he was a member of the EBM group Kill Vision. This tape contains embryonic instrumental versions of already performed songs.

Opener Fusion Diffusion Through sounds experimental, both in form and sound, with lots of distorted synth sounds. My first idea was that this would be a difficult album to listen to, but no.... The following tracks sound normal, at times a bit monotonous. Vocals are not needed, and I can imagine where to place them: musical landscapes consisting of pure electronic music with sparse added percussion/electronic drums.

Outstanding tracks are Acetone with the sound of a flying mosquito or fly, and a bass that comes from the New Beat- period; And Then It Ends has a nice, slow but minimal construction; S=S has a lot of variation in sound and detail. Here Jorg tells a story with sounds and synths. End at World 's Edge seems to suggest a dark world with synth sounds that have an Anne Clark-touch. Some songs have no percussion and are ambient like I Am Not Above and Jupiter.

A beautiful and well balanced album, and a must for fans of the genre. Watch the clip Nymphs Are Volcanic performed live @ Wool -E record Shop on 09/27/2014 

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2015


NL

Dit is het werk van Jorg Bruyndonckx. Vroeger nog lid van de EBM groep Kill Vision. Deze tape bevat embryonale instrumentale versies waarmee hij al een paar keer optrad. In eerste instantie zong hij nog zelf, maar nu is daar een zangeres bijgekomen die een deel van de zangpartijen voor haar rekening neemt. Op deze tape gaat het dus nog om puur instrumentale versies.

Opener Fusion Through Diffusion klinkt experimenteel. Dit zowel qua vorm als qua geluid. Strepen en flarden vervormde synthgeluiden die wegvallen en terugkomen. Mijn eerste idee was dan ook dat dit een zwaar album zou worden om helemaal te beluisteren. Maar dat valt heus mee. De nummers die erna volgen zijn eerder normale, bij momenten monotone instrumentals. Ze vragen niet altijd om zang, maar van enkele nummers kan ik mij wel voorstellen waar ik die zou kunnen plaatsen. Er is hier dus sprake van muzikale landscapes bestaande uit pure electronische muziek met spaarzaam toegevoegde percussie/electronische drums.

Wat springt er voor mij uit: Acetone, dat qua geluid een voorbijvliegende mug of bromvlieg lijkt te imiteren. Een bas die uit de new beat- of houseperiode lijkt af te stammen. De bas laat het nummer leven. And Then It Ends heeft een mooie, trage, maar minimale opbouw. S=S kent veel variatie qua geluid en details. Hier wordt een verhaal verteld met geluiden en synths. End at World’s Edge lijkt een donker wereldbeeld voor te stellen. De synthgeluiden doen hier wat denken aan Anne Clark.

Op enkele nummers komt er geen percussie voor en krijgen de songs een ambiente inslag. Zoals bv. I Am Not en afsluiter Above Jupiter.

Een mooi en evenwichtig album. Een aanrader voor liefhebbers van het genre. Wil je weten hoe dit alles klinkt met zang, klik dan eens op de link hieronder. Je hoort All Nymphs Are Volcanic live gebracht @ Wool-E record shop op 27/09/2014.

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2015


Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings