tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

10/12/2016 : MAQUINA TOTAL - Maquina Total

MAQUINA TOTAL

Maquina Total

MusicCassette
Ambient PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[88/100]   

Domestica Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Maquina Total is the second EP of Virgili Jubero, the man behind this project. Located in Barcelona, ​​he surprises us with a five-track cassette. Yes indeed, the cassette form has become a niche product (besides vinyl of course).

The voice reminds me of the singer of Tindersticks: a dark, deep and slightly toneless sound. We hear electro and synth compositions, plugged into a dreampop or coldwave atmosphere.

Son is an ambient-like intro with synths that tend strongly to Trevor Horn. The song paves the way for Urbanització Esmeralda, an instrumental composition that can be situated between EBM and The Knife: strong and driven by the synth bass, with minimal vocals at the end.

Sol A Cancun floats on lovely sounding synth sounds with sober vocals. Beautiful. Que es L'Amor? includes rudimentary digital percussion sounds. On Estatua, the pace goes up.

Maquina Total released an EP that is spacey, melodic and captivating. We hope to hear more of these guys in the future!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Maquina Total is de tweede ep van Virgili Jubero, de man achter dit project. Werkzaam in Barcelona, verrast hij ons hier met een vijf tracks tellende cassette. Jawel, cassette is ook een nichemarkt geworden (naast vinyl).

De stem doet mij wat denken aan de zanger van Tindersticks: een wat donker, diep en lichtjes toonloos geluid. We horen electro- en syntcomposities die in een dreampop-, coldwave- of sfeerrijk jasje zijngestopt. Son is een ambient-achtige intro met synths die sterk naar Trevor Horn neigen, en de song maakt de weg vrij voor Urbanització Esmeralda, een instrumentale compositie die ergens tussen EBM en The Knife ligt: sterk en vooruitgedreven door de synthbas, met minimale zang op het einde.

Sol A Cancun drijft op liefelijk klinkende synthklanken met de sobere en nuchtere zang als kontrast. Mooi. Què És L'Amor? is voorzien van rudimentair digitaal slagwerk en klinkt verstild als een stilleven. Op Estatua gaat het tempo wat omhoog en de track klinkt als een kabbelend beekje.

Maquina Total heeft een ep afgeleverd die spacy, melodieus en boeiend is. Graag meer van dit in de toekomst.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : MAQUINA TOTAL - Maquina Total 10/12/2016 : MAQUINA TOTAL - Maquina Total 10/12/2016 : MAQUINA TOTAL - Maquina Total

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.