tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

MARCO BELLOCCHIO

Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
ArthouseDrama
Filmfest Gent
16/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

When a festival has 107 movies in its catalogue then it’s completely impossible to see them all, let alone to review them all. Because we care about movies we will choose some that we consider as a tip. The goal from every festival is to introduce movies that are a bit forgotten. Fine productions that don’t have the budget to present themselves like their Hollywood-colleagues can. Call it arthouse or whatever, what you see today at FilmFest Ghent is what will be in the theatres the forthcoming months and so an excellent preview.

Bella Addormentata from veteran Marco Bellocchio is made in 2012, but for some reasons (well you know them) the movie hasn’t been released yet. Perhaps with the new revival of Italian cinema there’s a chance for that because this French-Italian production (which means The Sleeping Beauty) has a subject everyone has to deal with once in his life. Is it right to decide about the life of someone else, someone you love and don’t want to see suffer? 

This collage movie takes place in the days of Berlusconi when euthanasia was equal to murder. We follow the last 6 days of Eluana Englaro who is already 17 years in coma. Her family thinks the time has come to say goodbye, but the Italian catholics see that as a crime. At the same time we follow Divina Madre (Isabelle Huppert) who has a strong belief in God and who also has a daughter who lives like a plant. She doesn’t think her daughter is sick, she sleeps.

The subject is heavy, but Marco Bellocchio made it somehow a light movie to digest. Of course you’ll talk about it afterwards, but it’s obvious that everyone has an argument and in a way they’re all right. The acting is excellent with again a brilliant Isabelle Huppert who has already played a role like that in Michael Haneke’s Amour.

Didier BECU
16/10/2014


NL

Wanneer een festival 107 titels telt dan is het gewoon onmogelijk om die allemaal te zien, laat staan ze te bespreken. Maar omdat wij enorm veel van film houden, vinden wij het toch belangrijk dat wij iets vertellen over de uitschieters. Een goed festival (en dat is Gent!) moet een paradepaardje zijn van de andere cinema. Neen, we gebruiken zelfs niet het woord betere cinema, maar gewoon films die niet het budget hebben om te kunnen concurreren met de Hollywood-broertjes. Het Filmfestival van Gent is dan ook een mooi toonbeeld van wat we de komende maanden in de bioscoop mogen verwachten.

Bella Addormentata van veteraan Marco Bellocchio stamt eigenlijk al uit 2012, maar door welgekende redenen is hij tot nu toe nog niet in de bioscoop geraakt. Misschien is dat nu dankzij de revival van de Italiaanse cinema wel mogelijk, want deze Frans-Italiaanse productie (die De Schone Slaapster betekent) gaat over een vraag die iedereen wel ooit eens in de maag gespitst krijgt: hebben wij het recht om het leven van iemand anders te beëindigen? 

Deze collagefilm speelt zich af in de Berlusconi-dagen waarin euthanasie gelijkgeschakeld werd met moord. We volgen de laatste dagen van Eluana Englaro, een vrouw die al 17 jaar in coma ligt. De familie vindt dat het genoeg is geweest, maar buiten staat een massa hysterie gelovigen moord en brand te schreeuwen. Daartegenover plaatst Bellocchio het verhaal van de actrice Divina Madre (Isabelle Huppert) wier dochter als een plant aan een machine ligt. Zij vindt niet dat haar dochter ziek is, ze slaapt.

Het onderwerp is loodzwaar, maar ergens verpakt Bellocchio het op een luchtige manier. Hij veroordeelt wel niet, maar de scènes waarin de katholieke kerk het voor het zeggen heeft spreken voor zich. De acteerprestaties zijn van een hoog niveau met wederom Isabelle Huppert in topvorm die eerder zo’n soort rol in Michael Haneke’s Amour vertolkte.

Didier BECU
16/10/2014


16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

 

Next reviews
HUMAN LEAGUE • Classics: Dare
DOUG LIMAN • Edge Of Tomorrow
VARIOUS ARTISTS • LABEL NOIR VOL.2 SAMPLER
SETH MACFARLANE • A Million Ways To Die In The West
• DRACULA SEASON 1
PEAKING LIGHTS • Cosmic Logic
GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN • Halfweg
CRISPY AMBULANCE • CLASSICS: The Plateau Phase
MOGWAI • Teenage Exorcists
WES BALL • The Maze Runner

 

Same combination of genres: ARTHOUSE + DRAMA
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)
PAUL WRIGHT • For Those In Peril
STEPHANE DUMOUSTIER • Terre Battue
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
ALIX DELAPORTE • Angèle Et Tony
PHILIP GRONING • Die Frau Des Polizisten

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
VERA CHYTILOVA • Fruit Of Paradise
STEFAN HAUPT • Sagrada, Il Misteri de la Creació

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall