tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

MARCO BELLOCCHIO

Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
ArthouseDrama
Filmfest Gent
16/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

When a festival has 107 movies in its catalogue then it’s completely impossible to see them all, let alone to review them all. Because we care about movies we will choose some that we consider as a tip. The goal from every festival is to introduce movies that are a bit forgotten. Fine productions that don’t have the budget to present themselves like their Hollywood-colleagues can. Call it arthouse or whatever, what you see today at FilmFest Ghent is what will be in the theatres the forthcoming months and so an excellent preview.

Bella Addormentata from veteran Marco Bellocchio is made in 2012, but for some reasons (well you know them) the movie hasn’t been released yet. Perhaps with the new revival of Italian cinema there’s a chance for that because this French-Italian production (which means The Sleeping Beauty) has a subject everyone has to deal with once in his life. Is it right to decide about the life of someone else, someone you love and don’t want to see suffer? 

This collage movie takes place in the days of Berlusconi when euthanasia was equal to murder. We follow the last 6 days of Eluana Englaro who is already 17 years in coma. Her family thinks the time has come to say goodbye, but the Italian catholics see that as a crime. At the same time we follow Divina Madre (Isabelle Huppert) who has a strong belief in God and who also has a daughter who lives like a plant. She doesn’t think her daughter is sick, she sleeps.

The subject is heavy, but Marco Bellocchio made it somehow a light movie to digest. Of course you’ll talk about it afterwards, but it’s obvious that everyone has an argument and in a way they’re all right. The acting is excellent with again a brilliant Isabelle Huppert who has already played a role like that in Michael Haneke’s Amour.

Didier BECU
16/10/2014


NL

Wanneer een festival 107 titels telt dan is het gewoon onmogelijk om die allemaal te zien, laat staan ze te bespreken. Maar omdat wij enorm veel van film houden, vinden wij het toch belangrijk dat wij iets vertellen over de uitschieters. Een goed festival (en dat is Gent!) moet een paradepaardje zijn van de andere cinema. Neen, we gebruiken zelfs niet het woord betere cinema, maar gewoon films die niet het budget hebben om te kunnen concurreren met de Hollywood-broertjes. Het Filmfestival van Gent is dan ook een mooi toonbeeld van wat we de komende maanden in de bioscoop mogen verwachten.

Bella Addormentata van veteraan Marco Bellocchio stamt eigenlijk al uit 2012, maar door welgekende redenen is hij tot nu toe nog niet in de bioscoop geraakt. Misschien is dat nu dankzij de revival van de Italiaanse cinema wel mogelijk, want deze Frans-Italiaanse productie (die De Schone Slaapster betekent) gaat over een vraag die iedereen wel ooit eens in de maag gespitst krijgt: hebben wij het recht om het leven van iemand anders te beëindigen? 

Deze collagefilm speelt zich af in de Berlusconi-dagen waarin euthanasie gelijkgeschakeld werd met moord. We volgen de laatste dagen van Eluana Englaro, een vrouw die al 17 jaar in coma ligt. De familie vindt dat het genoeg is geweest, maar buiten staat een massa hysterie gelovigen moord en brand te schreeuwen. Daartegenover plaatst Bellocchio het verhaal van de actrice Divina Madre (Isabelle Huppert) wier dochter als een plant aan een machine ligt. Zij vindt niet dat haar dochter ziek is, ze slaapt.

Het onderwerp is loodzwaar, maar ergens verpakt Bellocchio het op een luchtige manier. Hij veroordeelt wel niet, maar de scènes waarin de katholieke kerk het voor het zeggen heeft spreken voor zich. De acteerprestaties zijn van een hoog niveau met wederom Isabelle Huppert in topvorm die eerder zo’n soort rol in Michael Haneke’s Amour vertolkte.

Didier BECU
16/10/2014


16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

 

Next reviews
HUMAN LEAGUE • Classics: Dare
DOUG LIMAN • Edge Of Tomorrow
VARIOUS ARTISTS • LABEL NOIR VOL.2 SAMPLER
SETH MACFARLANE • A Million Ways To Die In The West
• DRACULA SEASON 1
PEAKING LIGHTS • Cosmic Logic
GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN • Halfweg
CRISPY AMBULANCE • CLASSICS: The Plateau Phase
MOGWAI • Teenage Exorcists
WES BALL • The Maze Runner

 

Same combination of genres: ARTHOUSE + DRAMA
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)
PAUL WRIGHT • For Those In Peril
STEPHANE DUMOUSTIER • Terre Battue
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
ALIX DELAPORTE • Angèle Et Tony
PHILIP GRONING • Die Frau Des Polizisten

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
VERA CHYTILOVA • Fruit Of Paradise
STEFAN HAUPT • Sagrada, Il Misteri de la Creació

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!
16
07
Today, Blutengel released their brand-new Album 'Erlösung - The Victory of Light'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My