tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal

MARIAN DORA

Cannibal

MovieCult movies
Horror

[60/100]   

Shock DVD
15/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

If you needed a bag to puke in when seeing La Grande Bouffe by Marco Ferreri then we really have no idea what you will be doing when you have the courage to start watching Cannibal. By now the movie has gained some popularity among horror fans, but in fact this was a project from video artist Marian Dora. Anyone who is familiar with his sort movies (there are four of them included on here) knows that the German is keen on the dark and pervert sides of humankind.

This 90 minutes long video production is based on true facts. It was the wish from Bernd Jurgen Brande (Carsten Frank) to be eaten by another person. After some search on the net he came across Armin Meiwes (Victor Brandl) who always have dreamt of eating human flesh. A sick event that shocked Germany and inspired some artists. Rammstein wrote a song about it: Mein Teil.

Marian Dora also was interested in filming the unusual event. Just don’t expect an ordinary horror movie! It lasts almost 50 minutes before Meiwes sets his teeth in the meal. In those moments you see some explicit sexual scenes with the two men who are preparing themselves to become “one”. Once the dinner starts, most viewers will end the trip. It’s disgusting, perverse and dirty. It’s not “haute cuisine” as with Hannibal Lecter, this is just dirty meat!

For the real fans. And saying that it all began with Hansel & Gretel!

Didier BECU
15/08/2014


NL

Wie begon te kokhalzen bij het zien van La Grande Bouffe van Marco Ferreri zal (ten minste indien hij de moed vindt) bij Cannibal een hele resem kotszakjes nodig hebben. Deze film is ondertussen een eigen leven beginnen leiden bij de horrorliefhebbers, maar in feite gaat het om een eigenzinnig project van videokunstenaar Marian Dora. Wie eeder al zijn kortfilms (er staan er vier als extra op deze dvd) weet beslist dat deze Duitser verkikkerd is op de duistere en perverse kant van de mens.

Deze 90 minuten durende videoproductie is gebaseerd op waargebeurde feiten. Het was de wens van Bernd Jurgen Brande (Carsten Frank) om door een ander mens te worden opgepeuzeld. Na lang zoeken vond hij uiteindelijk Armin Meiwes (Victor Brandl) die er steeds van droomde om eens mensenvlees op zijn tafel te hebben staan. Een ziekelijk gebeuren dat heel Duitsland op stelten zette en heel wat kunstenaars inspireerde, bijv. Rammstein die er een nummer over schreef (Mein Teil).

Ook Marian Dora zag graten in het relaas van de kanibaal van Rotenburg. Verwacht je evenwel aan geen gewone horrorfilm. Zo duurt het bijna vijftig minuten vooraleer Meiwes zijn tanden in zijn avondmaal zet. Eerst krijg je wat intense liefkozingen tussen de mannen te zien, maar eens Meiwes aan zijn maaltijd begint zullen de meeste kijkers wel de ogen dichtslaan. Cannibal is nooit schrikwekkend, wel ontzettend vies, pervers en weerzinwekkend. Het gaat om een zeer goedkope productie met een matig beeldkwaliteit, maar de details zijn goed te zien. Is dit nu een goede film? Je kent het antwoord, maar je hem blijven herinneren doe je wel!

Voor de liefhebbers. En zeggen dat het allemaal met Hans & Grietje begon!

Didier BECU
15/08/2014


15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back