tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
29/07/2015, Didier BECU

With their debut Light Stays Close, The Spectors made one of the most refreshing Belgian indie pop albums. Shoegazepop with a touch of the 60s, or in one word: gorgeous! We asked front woman Marieke Hutsebaut to come up with her favorite albums that changed her life.

THE BEACH BOYS - PET SOUNDS
This album contains some of the best pop songs ever written with 'God Only Knows' being my favorite.

AMY WINEHOUSE – BACK TO BLACK, FRANK
I love every single song she recorded, she was one of the few female singers in our generation who could interest me. She wrote her own songs out of her own experiences and that's very rare for female artists these days. I could make a list of my favorite songs of hers, but I would just be typing the entire tracklist of both albums.

SLOWDIVE - SOUVLAKI
I was listening to this album a lot when I first started writing songs for The Spectors, I think this album is the reason I put all these shoegaze and dreampop influences in my music. My favorite songs on this album are Machine Gun, Alison and When The Sun Hits.

THE BEATLES - EVERYTHING
The Beatles are definitely the best and most influential pop group of all time. Eleanor Rigby is my favorite song.

LED ZEPPELIN - EVERYTHING
I love Led Zeppelin, and not for its bluesrock songs but for songs like Babe I'm Gonna Leave You, Thank You, Tangerine, That's The Way, Stairway To Heaven, No Quarter…

JANIS JOPLIN - EVERYTHING
She is just awesome.

SONIC YOUTH – DAYDREAM NATION
This is the first Sonic Youth album I ever heard and I really love their sound and the atmosphere in the music. I love Kim Gordon’s voice.

THE SHANGRI-LAS – LEADER OF THE PACK
They were part of the sixties girl group 'movement', but they took it to a whole new level. They have a very dark vibe in all of their songs, which really attracts me.

THE MAMAS & THE PAPAS – THEIR SONGS (AS THEY DON’T HAVE ANY OFFICIAL ALBUM)
I love their songs simply because they are the perfect example of good sixties pop songs. California Dreamin’ is one of my favorite songs of all time.

TAME IMPALA - INNERSPEAKER
This is also one of the albums that got me into dreamy and shoegazy stuff!

Didier BECU
29/07/2015


29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution