tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

MARINA DE VAN

Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
Horror
Filmfest Gent
22/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

You can’t avoid it, but at every film festival you’re always having some light weights around. Strange enough I must admit that I have to say this about the latest movie by Marina De Van: a student from François Ozon who impressed before with Ne Te Retourne Pas: a weird psychological drama in where Sophie Marceau transforms to Monica Bellucci.

With her newest production, the French film maker went to Ireland to shoot the story from the little Niamh (Missy Keating). The child is abused, but she can protect herself with telekinetic gifts that make furniture deadly weapons.

The main reason is of course the story, but you can’t help it thinking of Carrie. Especially the way Brian De Palma has shot this picture. De Van uses a boring style that makes you almost fall asleep, even if the blood drips from the silver screen. Don’t let us be misunderstood, as Dark Touch is certainly not a disaster. A lot is saved by the stunning performance by the young Missy Keating who reminds us of Jennifer Connelly in Phenomena by Dario Argento. Mediocre, that’s all, especially because today there’s more exciting stuff to find in the horror genre.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


NL

Op een filmfestival heb je natuurlijk ook, hoe kan het anders, pluimgewichten en deze twijfelachtige eer viel raar genoeg in de handen van Marina De Van. De verwachtingen waren nochtans hooggespannen, want deze leerlinge van François Ozon maakte eerder indruk met Ne Te Retourne Pas: een vreemd psychologisch drama waarin Sophie Marceau in Monica Bellucci verandert.

Met haar nieuwste film trok de Française naar Ierland om er het verhaal van het meisje Niamh (Missy Keating) te vertellen. Het meisje wordt op schandalige wijze mishandeld, maar kan zich verzetten door haar telekinetische krachten waardoor meubelstukken opeens dodende objecten worden.

De hoofdreden is natuurlijk het verhaal, maar automatisch kom je bij Carrie terecht en dan herinner je je vooral op wat voor een voortreffelijke wijze Brian De Palma dit in beeld heeft gebracht. De Van doet dat niet, maar opteert voor een zeer saaie werkwijze waardoor je bijna in slaap dommelt, ofschoon het bloed van het scherm afdruipt. Echt slecht is het niet en dat is vooral te danken aan de bijzondere vertolking van de jonge Missy Keating die ons doet denken aan Jennifer Connelly in Phenomena van Dario Argento. Geen verschrikking, dat niet, maar in het horrorwereldje vind je tegenwoordig toch heel wat beter dan dat.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party