tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy

MARK WATERS

Vampire Academy

Movie
Comedy

[25/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
30/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We better be honest about it, but since Twilight made its entrance, vampires are no longer the monopoly for goths or other dark persons, as teenage girls also love the followers from Dracula. These days Kristen Stewart is interested in better cinema, and so Hollywood is in need of a new vampire franchise. One of their current choices are the Vampire Academy-books by Richelle Mead. Six of them are already written, and whether you want it or not: Tinseltown is ready with the script from the sequel.


In the world of Vampire Academy you have the bloodthirsty creatures called Dhampirs, a sort of hybrids as their half human and half vampire. You have two breeds among them. First of all, you have the royal (and so the good ones) vampires that are the Moroi and secondly the cruel Strigoi who wants to rule the world. The young Lissa Dragomir (Lucy Fry) is the Moroi-princess who is supposed to get on the throne, but of course the Strigoi do everything to avoid that. Lissa’s guardian angel and best friend is Rose (Zoey Deutch, whom we know from that other teen horror movie Beautiful Creatures). She is send back to the vampire academy to protect her friend.


Harry Potter for stupid teens, you think? In a way you can say that, but despite the messy script and the not so bright special effects, you can classify Vampire Academy among nice popcorn fodder. The story is mellow, some actors can’t act (yes, Sarah Hyland, you’re the one we’re talking about!) and the directing is without inspiration (what do you want if your triumph is Mean Girls?). Bad elements indeed, but once again: it’s certainly watchable. Even if I’m aware that this is mostly due to Zoey Deutch. But then again, Ellen Page-lookalikes always score in my book!


On the Blu-ray you can find an alternative opening scene, some deleted parts and an interview with novelist Michelle Mead.


Vampire Academy is out on Dutch Filmworks on both DVD and Blu-ray.

 

Didier BECU
30/06/2014


NL

Sinds Twilight zijn vampiers niet alleen meer in de kamers van goths of griezelfanaten te vinden, maar ook bakvisjes genieten volop van de volgelingen van Dracula. Kristen Stewart houdt zich tegenwoordig liever bezig met de betere cinema en daarom had Hollywood nood aan een nieuwe franchise over bloedzuigers. De keuze viel op de Vampire Academy-boeken van Richelle Mead waarvan er ondertussen al zes zijn uitgebracht. En of je het nu wil of niet, inmiddels is men in Hollywood al klaar met het scenario voor de sequel.

In de wereld van Vampire Academy zijn de bloeddorstige wezens Dhampirs, een soort hybride want eigenlijk zijn ze half mens-half vampier. Je hebt twee soorten namelijk de koninklijke (en dus de goede) Moroi en de wreedaardige Strigoi. Natuurlijk willen de Strigoi de macht overnemen. De piepjonge Lissa Dragomir (Lucy Fry) is de Moroi-prinses die wordt verondersteld om weldra de troon te bestijgen, maar natuurlijk willen de Strigoi dat ten alle tijden vermijden. Redder in nood is haar boezemvriendin Rose (Zoey Deutch, die we al eerder zagen in die andere tienergriezelfilm Beautiful Creatures), daarom wordt zij terug naar de vampierenacademie gestuurd om haar beste maatje te beschermen.

Harry Potter voor onnozele tienermeisjes, denkt u? Ergens is dat wel zo, maar ondanks het rommelige scenario en de bij momenten onnozele effecten is Vampire Academy toch ook best leuk voor kijkers die geen 15 zijn. Het verhaal is wel wat melig, sommige acteurs kunnen helemaal niet acteren (inderdaad, Sarah Hyland, we hebben het over u!) toch is Vampire Academy best te pruimen popcornvertier als je je eisen niet te hoog stelt. De regie van Mark Waters laat wel heel wat te wensen over (wat wil je als Mean Girls je paradepaardje is?), gelukkig wordt de film regelmatig rechtgetrokken door de beloftevolle Zoey Deutch. Nu ja, Ellen Page-lookalikes scoren nu eenmaal tijd!

Op de Blu-ray vind je tevens een alternatieve openingscène, wat verwijderde delen en een interview met schrijfster Michelle Mead terug.

Vampire Academy is nu uit op Dutch Filmworks en dit zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
30/06/2014


30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy

Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!
16
07
Today, Blutengel released their brand-new Album 'Erlösung - The Victory of Light'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My