tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/11/2015 : MASQUERADE - Blood is the New Black

MASQUERADE

Blood is the New Black

MusicVinyl
GothicGothic RockPost Punk

[90/100]   

Fight Records
11/11/2015, Luki PUKI

EN

I saw the four piece band Masquerade at Return to the Batcave Festival and it blew me away. Superb Gothpunks loving playing to the crowd. Singer Suzi Sabotage is great live, lots of odd panting, screaming and generally having fun with the rest of the band… so, I was a bit worried the magic wouldn’t translate onto a recording. As a guy I rarely admit this, but I was wrong.

The five track EP Blood is the New Black doesn’t disappoint. Guitars, bass and drums are as good as anything that came out of the original gothpunk scene. Suzi’s stage antics carried over without loosing any of the live charm.

The title song touches on media sexualisation, but my favorite is All Things Hurt which, judging from the video, is about the red wine hangover from hell. We all know it looks cool contrasting blood red with your porcelain white makeup, but red wine is basically hangover in a bottle. Other lyrics touch on more cliché goth elements like funerals and unrequited love. 

Hats off to Finlands finest gothrockers for a great release.

Luki PUKI
11/11/2015


NL

Toen ik Masquerade aan het werk zag tijdens het Return To The Batcave Festival, blies het mij onmiddellijk van mijn sokken. Schitterend gothpunks die met volle overgave voor hun publiek spelen. Zangeres Suzi Sabotage is geweldig op het podium: ze hijgt, ze schreeuwt en heeft volop plezier met de rest van de band... dus was ik een beetje bang dat ze deze magie niet op een plaat zou kunnen brengen. Een man geeft het niet graag toe, maar ik had het mis.

De vijf nummers op Blood is the New Black stellen helemaal niet teleur. De gitaren, de bas en de drums klinken net zo goed als tijdens de hoogdagen van de gothpunk. En ja hoor, wat Suzi op een podium presteert, klinkt even sterk op plaat.

De titelsong gaat over de seksuitbuiting in de media, terwijl All Things Hurt (ten minste dat denk ik toch als ik de video zie) over de kater die je krijgt als je rode wijn uit de hel drinkt. We weten allemaal dat bloedrood een mooi contrast vormt met porseleinwitte make-up, maar vergeet niet dat rode wijn nog altijd een kater in flesvorm is! De andere teksten gaan meer over clichés die je wel meer in het gothgenre aantreft zoals begrafenissen of onbeantwoorde liefde.

Petje af voor Finlands beste gothrockers voor deze prachtige release!

Luki PUKI
11/11/2015


 

Next reviews
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
HORTUS BOTANICUS • (NL, Leiden)
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
MERCURY REV • Brussels, Botanique (08/11/2015)
DE BRASSERS • Brussels, Magasin 4 (07/11/2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • Ghent, De Handelsbeurs (07/11/15)
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies
SPECTRA*PARIS • License To Kill
RANK • PLAN YOUR DOWNFALL
NEW ORDER • Brussels, AB (06/11/2015)

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + GOTHIC ROCK + POST PUNK
TERMINAL GODS • Machine Beat Messiah

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything