tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

23/05/2011 : MATHON - Terrestre

MATHON

Terrestre

MusicVinyl
AmbientExperimental

[73/100]   
23/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Mathon, the Swiss trio composed of Pete Leuenberger, Roger Thomas Stucki & Augustini, brings a sort of experimental ambient. For this 12 " vinyl they have worked with guest musicians for every song. It is also accompanied by a DVD.

Musically the whole work drifts quietly and brings us a relaxing sort of trance. The variety of sounds constitutes a whole and works so well. Sounds that remind me of didgeridoo, violin, acoustic guitar, dripping water, rasp on a metal plate, squeezing a balloon, it might (probably) be all just imagination but the variety of accompanying sounds holds my attention.

It is not an innovative sound, but a good sound collage, which I can perfectly enjoy while reading a good book, or when looking at a slow sunset. The heavily ambient tinted piano playing reminds me rather of the easy to find, ten a penny, relaxation CDs, but the additional and more experimental sound layers still can make it interesting.

"Parsec"is the best song, for me at last, a touching song, with the combination of bubbles, bells, transformed women's voices, bizarre crackling and a quiet rippling but constructive rhythm and a multitude of inexplicable electronic sounds (why do I keep thinking about some kind of robot-frog?). Great song.

The accompanying DVD can tempt me less. The images do not fit to the music. They are indeed produced and executed beautifully (except the first, boring version of Parsec by Magdesign video), but they give little added value to the music.

A pretty album for those who prefer a semi-experimental relaxing ambient approach!

 

www.mathonmusic.ch

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


NL

Mathon, het Zwitserse trio bestaande uit Pete Leuenberger, Roger Stucki & Thomas Augustini, brengt een soort experimentele ambient. Voor deze 12” vinyl hebben ze voor elk nummer samengewerkt met gastmuzikanten & het geheel is ook nog eens vergezeld van een DVD.

Muzikaal kabbelt het geheel rustig voort en brengt het een soort van relaxerende trance teweeg. De veelvoud aan geluiden vormt een geheel en werkt zo ook. Geluiden die me doen denken aan didgeridoo, violen, akoestische gitaar, gedruppel van water, gerasp op een metalen plaat, knijpen in een ballon, het is misschien (allicht) allemaal maar verbeelding maar de veelvoud aan begeleidende geluiden houdt mijn aandacht vast.

Het is geen vernieuwend geluid, maar wel een mooie geluidscollage, die me perfect kan begeleiden bij het lezen van een mooi boek, of het genieten van een langzame zonsondergang. Het sterk ambient getinte pianospel doet me eerder denken aan wat je terug vindt op dertien-in-een-dozijn relax-cd’s, maar de bovenliggend, meer experimentele geluidslagen maken het toch boeiend.

“Parsec” is het nummer dat er voor mij uitsteekt, een aangrijpend nummer, met de combinatie van bellen, klokken, getransformeerde vrouwenstemmen, gong, bizar gekraak en een rustig voortkabbelend doch opbouwend ritme en een resem onduidbare elektronische geluiden (waarom denk ik in godsnaam aan een robot-kikker?). Prachtig nummer.

De begeleidende DVD kan me minder bekoren. De beelden passen voor mij niet bij de muziek. Ze zijn weliswaar knap in elkaar gezet (buiten de eerste, saaie versie bij Parsec door Magdesign video), maar geven me weinig toegevoegde waarde bij de muziek.

Een mooi plaatje voor zij die graag met semi-experimentele inslag relaxerende ambient horen!

www.mathonmusic.ch

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • The strange familiar EP
LYDIA LUNCH • 13.13
TYSKE LUDDER • Diaspora
HUMINOIDA • Whiter Album
THE EXPLODING BOY • The black album
RED ZEBRA • THIEVES OF SILENCE | SINT NIKLAAS | OJC KOMPAS | 21/05/2011 | So this is Belgium...
PETER MURPHY • Ninth
RED ZEBRA | PORTRAIT BIZARRE • No Kitchen In The House | Jesus Fell Off My Wall
UMBERTO ECO • The Prague Cemetery | De begraafplaats van Praag
]CYLIX[ • Alpha

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + EXPERIMENTAL
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
THOMAS BRINKMANN • What You Hear (is what you hear)
ZONE DEMERSALE • Figura
KINGSTUX • Red & Blue
KINE • Meditations In April Green
GEORGE SARAH • Timelapse
KARSTEN PFLUM • Sleepwald
LINGOUF • Terre De Pierres
7JK • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything