tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes

MIKKEL NORGAARD

The Keeper Of The Lost Causes

Movie
Crime

[55/100]   

Lumire
05/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We tell you nothing new when we say that Scandinavia has conquered the television world. Therefore it’s quite strange to notice that Scandinavian films often fail in the cinema. A recent example is the brillant Headhunters that was ignored. The same can be said about The Keeper Of Lost Causes but in Denmark the movie was the best viewed Danish production ever! When you know that plans exist to make ten (!) sequels, then you understand that director Mikkel Nørgaard did a great job.

At least money wise, because in a cinematographic way, this thriller is a disappointment. The film is based on a novel by Jussi Adler Olsen, and even if this work is compared to Milenium, the final result is rather boring and far too confusing.

Carl Mørck (Nikolaj Lie Kaas, you might know him from The Idiots by Lars Von Trier and of course The Killing), is not exactly the most popular cop in his team. During his latest mission one colleague ended up in a wheelchair while another was sent six feet under. His superiors think it’s enough and they send him to the cellar where he has to classify cold cases with collegue Assad (Fares Fares). According to Carl Mørck a cop should not be behind a desk and so he starts the investigation of an old murder case.

It’s a basic rule that the viewer can identify with the hero, but that’s a rule Mikkel Nørgaard doesn't understand. The performance of Nikolaj Lie Kaas is extremely dull: Carl Mørck is an arrogant bastard and that’s all you can say about him. Furthermore the movie itself is very unbalanced and the flashbacks don’t work for a second. As soon as The Keeper Of Lost Causes is over, you forget it. No, that’s not why we are movie addicts!

The Keeper Of Lost Causes is out on Lumière.

Technical specifications:

Director: Mikkel Nørgaard
Cast: Nikolaj Lie Kaas, Fares Fares
Country: Denemark, 2013
Length: 93 minutes
Language: Danish
Subtitles: Dutch
Image: 16/9
Audio: Dolby Digital 5.1

Didier BECU
05/11/2014


NL

Alhoewel Scandinavië in de Europese televisiewereld als een pletwals te keer gaat, lijkt het in de cinema in andere landen toch iets minder te lukken. Zo werd twee jaar geleden (de briljante) Headhunters wat over het hoofd gezien, en ook voor The Keeper Of Lost Causes was er bij de bioscoopexploitanten geen reden voor een vreugdedansje. In thuisland Denemarken was dat heel andere koek. Deze thriller werd in geen tijd de meest bezochte Deense prent aller tijden en als je weet dat er plannen zijn om er maar liefst tien (!) films van te maken, dan weet je dat regisseur Mikkel Nørgaard in zijn opzet is geslaagd.

Ten minste op het vlak van de centen, want op filmvlak is deze politiethriller eerder een ontgoocheling. Hij baseerde zich op de misdaadroman De vrouw in de kooi van Jussi Adler Olsen. Die bestseller heeft alle troeven in handen om er wederom een Scandinavische crimi van te maken die je van je sokken blaast , helaas is de uitwerking ervan eerder saai en vrij verwarrend.

Carl Mørck (Nikolaj Lie Kaas, bekend van The Idiots van Lars Von Trier en natuurlijk The Killing) is niet meteen de populairste flik van het korps. Nadat bij één van zijn interventies een collega verlamd is geraakt en een andere het loodje heeft gelegd, sturen zijn superieuren hem letterlijk naar de kelder. Samen met collega Assad ( Fares Fares) mag hij voortaan onopgeloste zaken doen. De koppige Carl Mørck vindt evenwel dat een flik niet achter een bureau moet zitten en tot groot ongenoegen van zijn overste onderzoekt hij de onopgeloste (stinkende) zaakjes te velde.

Het is een basisregel, maar blijkbaar heeft Mikkel Nørgaard niet begrepen dat de kijker zich moeten kunnen vereenzelvigen met de speurneus. Dat lukt niet met de saaie vertolking van Nikolaj Lie Kaas: Carl Mørck is een arrogante zak en dat is eigenlijk het enige wat je over hem kan vertellen. Bovendien is de film zeer onevenwichtig gemaakt, de flashbacks zijn bijzonder amateuristisch ingebouwd en vaak niet eens te begrijpen. The Keeper Of Lost Causes is zoals men het zo mooi uitdrukt een mager beestje. Toch maar opnieuw The Bridge bovenhalen!

The Keeper Of Lost Causes is uitgebracht op Lumière.

Technische specificaties:

Regisseur: Mikkel Nørgaard (Borgen)
Cast: Nikolaj Lie Kaas, Fares Fares
Herkomst: Denemarken, 2013
Speelduur: 93 minuten
Taal: Deens
Ondertiteling: Nederlands
Beeldformaat: 16/9
Audio: Dolby Digital 5.1

Didier BECU
05/11/2014


05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes

Music reviews

05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!
01
05
Dark Ambient Act LONG THE NIGHT Reveals The Ominous & Melancholic Illusion
30
04
Dark Ambient Act IN THE ABSENCE OF WORDS Reveals Their Compilation, A Collection I

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight
30
04
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
God Is Dead