tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

08/11/2015 : MISE EN ABYME - Crimini d’Odio

MISE EN ABYME

Crimini d’Odio

MusicCassette
AmbientExperimentalIndustrial

[75/100]   

Yerevan Tapes
08/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Mise en Abyme is a collaboration of guitarist Christian Naldi and field recordist Giovanni Lami, two musicians with very different backgrounds. For the debut album Crimini d'Odio, they were inspired by a technique that is called frame story (a story within a story within a story), also used in literature, in the visual arts and in movies. We want to believe it, even though we have not noticed it while listening to the album, and maybe it is not really important. Crimini d'Odio contains five compositions.

On side one of the cassette we hear compositions in which a strummed acoustic guitar (whether or not deformed) is combined with silence, noise and sounds (Cinghiale). Sometimes the guitar gets an oriental Arabic-sounding tone, supported by noise and a multitude of small sounds (Baloo), or it wanders freely and plays an attractive melody (Intervallo [Fratres]), with no more than diffuse male voices in the background and barely perceptible noise. A very nice composition as a simple ripple of still water.

On side 2 of the tape, Naldi and Lami go in a different direction, because Discorsi d'Odio I + II is a noise track that starts with a repetitive male voice (in Italian), interrupted by patches of hissing noise and later complemented by a rainbow of dark drones, which ultimately push away the voice so that a busy and noisy soundscape in the style of Number 9 remains, though there is more continuity of the different sound layers in Discorsi d'Odio I + II. Discorsi d'Odio III gets the same hissing electromagnetic noise, but the voices are barely audible between the sporadic dark drones and the humming noise (neither loud or obtrusive), while new dark drones slowly penetrate into the soundscape from the background and temporarily dominate, with inflowing guitar sounds on top: atmospheric, melodious and never cacophonous.

Very diverse tracks on this EP, and sounds that we rarely hear (side 1), while both compositions on side two are similar to what is usually released on Ant-zen and Hymen Records. All in all, a well-made EP that is never boring, thanks to its short duration.

Tracklisting:
A1 Cinghiale
A2 Baloo
A3 Intervallo (Fratres)
B1 Discorsi d’Odio I + II
B2 Discorsi d’Odio III

Yerevan Tapes

William LIÉNARD
08/11/2015


NL

Mise en Abyme is het samenwerkingsproject van gitarist Cristian Naldi en field recordist Giovanni Lami, muzikanten met een zeer verschillende achtergrond. Voor het debuutalbum Crimini d’Odio hebben ze zich volgens het persbericht laten inspireren door wat in de literatuur raamvertelling wordt genoemd (een verhaal in een verhaal in een verhaal), een techniek die ook in de visuele kunst en in films regelmatig wordt toegepast. We willen het graag geloven, al hebben we er zelfs weinig van gemerkt tijdens het beluisteren en misschien is dat ook niet echt belangrijk. Op Crimini d’Odio staan vijf composities.

Op kant 1 van de cassette horen we composities waarin een tokkelde akoestische gitaar (al dan niet vervormd) wordt gecombineerd met stilte, noise en geluiden (Cinghiale) en soms krijgt die gitaar een oosterse (Arabisch) aandoende klank, opnieuw gesteund door noise en een veelheid van kleine geluiden (Baloo) of gevende beide heren ze zowaar vrij spel waardoor een aantrekkelijke melodie tot ontwikkeling wordt gebracht (Intervallo [Fratres]), met in de achtergrond niet meer dan wat diffuse mannenstemmen en nauwelijks waarneembare ruis. Een heel mooie compositie als een eenvoudige rimpeling van stilstaand water.

Op kant 2 van deze cassette gaan Naldi en Lami een hele andere richting in, want Discorsi d’Odio I + II is een noisetrack die begint met een repetitieve mannenstem (in het Italiaans, dus weinig van te begrijpen) die wordt onderbroken voor flarden van sissende noise, later aangevuld met een regenboog van donkere drones die de stem uiteindelijk wegdrukken zodat een druk en rumoerig soundscape overblijft in de stijl van Number 9, al is er in Discorsi d’Odio I + II meer sprake van continuïteit van de verschillende geluidslagen. Discorsi d’Odio III krijgt dezelfde sissende elektronoise, maar de stemmen zijn nog nauwelijks hoorbaar tussen de sporadische donkere drones en de brommende noise (geen van beide luid of opdringerig overigens), terwijl zich langzaam nieuwe donkere drones vanuit de achtergrond in het soundscape opdringen en het zelfs tijdelijk domineren met instromend gitaargeluid bovenop: atmosferisch en welluidend, want nooit kakofonisch.

Heel divers werk op deze ep met andere woorden, en geluiden die we zelden horen (kant 1), terwijl de beide composities op kant 2 aansluiten bij wat we regelmatig van Ant-zen en Hymen Records te horen krijgen. Al bij al een goed gemaakte ep die dankzij z’n korte speelduur nooit verveelt.

William LIÉNARD
08/11/2015


08/11/2015 : MISE EN ABYME - Crimini d’Odio 08/11/2015 : MISE EN ABYME - Crimini d’Odio

 

Next reviews
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
DESTRUCTION UNIT • Negative Feedback Resistor
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
EMPORIUM • Gloomy Shadows
ERDLING • Blitz Und Donner
NIMON • Fear of Change

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
KINGSTUX • Red & Blue
GEORGE SARAH • Timelapse

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried

Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!
16
07
Today, Blutengel released their brand-new Album 'Erlösung - The Victory of Light'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My