tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : MIST OF DEAD END - Never Explain Anything

MIST OF DEAD END

Never Explain Anything

MusicCD
Dark MetalGothic RockHorror

[72/100]   

Mislealia Records
09/12/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

Mist Of Dead End saw the light in 2013 in Montpellier in the South of France and is led by drummer/composer Ben Marmier who invited a number of guest musicians. Those who think to hear some summer tunes are wrong, because his apocalyptic rock is a mix of goth rock, metal, industrial, and HP Lovecraft as the main inspiration.

Never Explain Anything is a 6-track EP which introduces six times a different picture of the band. Opener The Depths begins with a sort of spoken word, and later becomes a dark and minimal rock song in which the drums and the deep bass lines set the tone.

In Summerfrost, the emphasis is more on the melodic gothic guitar and the dark vocals by Arnaud Sintes. Dr. Schreber barely lasts 50 second, but it’s creepy. You hear the noise of a heart monitoring machine that defines the horror atmosphere of this EP. Artefact is again more doom and goth rock, and ends with the goth metal tinged Tcafetra.

A very diverse EP with all sorts of styles that are always flirting with some dark, or as they describe it themselves, the more apocalyptic end of the world. These preachers of the apocalypse are certainly willing to spread their message, with Never Explain Anything as a useful tool.

Ruben SAEY
09/12/2016


NL

Mist Of Dead End zag het daglicht in 2013 in het Zuid-Franse Montpellier en wordt geleid door drummer componist Ben Marmier, die zich laat omringen door een aantal gastmuzikanten. Wie aan zomerse muziek denkt is eraan voor de moeite, want met een mengeling van gothrock, metal, een beetje industrial en elektro maakt het gezelschap een soort apocalyptische rock met HP Lovecraft als grote inspiratiebron.

Never Explain Anything is een eerste zes tracks tellende ep die evenveel keer een ander beeld van de band geeft. Openingstrack The Depths begint met een soort spoken word en wordt nadien een donkere rocksong met een heel minimale muzikale omlijsting waarin drums en diepe baslijnen de sfeer bepalen. In Summerfrost daarentegen ligt de klemtoon meer op de meer melodieuze gotische gitaarlijn en de donkere vocals van Arnaud Sintes.

Het amper 50 seconden durende maar creepy Dr. Schreber, heeft behalve het gepiep van een hartbewakingsmachine, muzikaal niet veel om het lijf,maar bepaalt wel de wat morbidere horrorsfeer van deze ep. Met Artefact wordt het roer nog maar eens omgegooid naar wat je meer onder doom en gothrock zou kunnen plaatsen, om te eindigen met het gothmetal getinte Tcafetra.

Een heel diverse ep met allerhande stijlen die wel steeds flirten met de wat duistere, of zoals ze zelf omschrijven, de meer apocalyptische kant van de wereld. Deze predikers van de apocalyps zijn alvast bereid hun boodschap vol overgave te verspreiden en daarbij is deze Never Explain Anything een handig hulpmiddel.

Ruben SAEY
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : MIST OF DEAD END - Never Explain Anything 09/12/2016 : MIST OF DEAD END - Never Explain Anything

Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!
16
07
Today, Blutengel released their brand-new Album 'Erlösung - The Victory of Light'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My