tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/07/2015 : MIST - The Loop of Love

MIST

The Loop of Love

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[78/100]   

Skipping records/Sonic Rendezvous
30/07/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

'Mist' was active between 2003 and 2009 (out of Amsterdam) and released albums through the Spanish label 'Astro Discos'. Typical were their melancholic, subdued and harmonic pop songs. After this intensive period with tours in Europa and Latin- America everybody was busy with his own projects.

Now there is ‘The Loop of Love’, a An album mostly made by songwriter, singer and producer Rick Treffers. In 2013 he began working on new material together with former member and guitarist Vermeulen through Skype and other channels. The lyrics deal with love, desire, persuit of harmony and rest, sometimes in a childish and naïve way, but honest and fragile without far-fetched metaphors and straight. Musically the songs are made without much tricks: piano, guitar and percussion and some additional instruments. The songs as craftwork to pull you into the world of ‘Mist’. Sometimes the album is a little too easy going and you caneasily lose the attention. But each song is made with skill and after several listening sessions the album comes alive.

I mostly remember ‘Losing Everything’ that just like ‘Standing on the Shore’ is a rather up-tempo track (genre Baltazar) with beautiful lyrics. ‘Something New’ is a dream pop songs about a new love. ‘Prepare of Landing’ has a beautiful guitar sound and harmonic vocals.

Begin 2015 the compilation ‘Selection’ was released, with songs from 2003-2009. Later this year a second compilation will be available, called ‘Underwater’, containing outtakes, live-recordings and curiosities. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
30/07/2015


NL

Mist was tussen 2003 en 2009 actief vanuit Amsterdam met albums op het Spaanse platenlabel Astro Discos. Kenmerkend waren hun ingetogen, weemoedige en harmonische popsongs. Na die intensieve periode met toernees doorheen Europa en Latijns Amerika hield iedereen zich bezig met eigen projecten.

Nu is er ‘The Loop of Love’, een album dat grotendeels is gemaakt door zanger, songschrijver en producer Rick Treffers. In 2013 begon Treffers via Skype en andere kanalen samen te werken met voormalig lid en gitarist Vermeulen. De teksten gaan over liefde, verlangen, streven naar harmonie en rust, soms getuigend van een kinderlijke naïviteit, maar steeds eerlijk en fragiel, zonder vergezochte metaforen of vergelijkingen en recht voor de raap. Muzikaal bevatten de songs weinig tricks: piano, gitaar, percussie en hier en daar nog wat toegevoegde instrumenten. Songs als ambacht. Het trekt je mee in de wereld van Mist. Soms kabbelt het album als geheel wat te rustig voorbij waardoor je de aandacht dreigt te verliezen. Maar elke song apart is vakkundig en sfeervol gemaakt. En bij meerdere beluisteringen komt het album meer en meer tot leven.

Wat ik vooral onthoud: ‘Losing Everything’ is net als ‘Standing on the Shore’ eerder een uptempo song (genre Baltazar) met een mooie tekst. ‘Something New’ is een heerlijk dromerige liedje over een nieuwe liefde. ‘Prepare of Landing’ heeft een heel mooie gitaarsound en dito samenzang.

Begin 2015 verscheen ‘Selection’,een verzamelalbum uit de periode 2003-2009. Later dit jaar verschijnt ook ‘Underwater’, een compleet album met outtakes, live-opnames, etc.

Wim GUILLEMYN
30/07/2015


Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace