tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : MONOLITH - Domination

MONOLITH

Domination

MusicCD
DanceDark ElectroElectronicsIndustrial

[90/100]   

Hands Productions
10/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

Two years after his debut Crashed for Dotmund’s Hands-label, the successor Domination is out now. Eric Van Wonterghem (Sonar, ABC, Insect) is a veteran in the genre, but this does not mean that he takes things easy these days. With his 9th album, Eric is (once again) on target. The whole dark alternative electronic path is traveled, sometimes with some hip techno shoes, sometimes you have to take your industrial combat shoes. Yes, even sandals are required for some ethnic sounds.

The title track (and opener) starts hesitant with some electronic effects, but soon they come: dance beats with a military precision, the recognizable massive underground techno of Monolith, the industrial engine is started for 15 tracks.

Anxious sounds mark Angel Of Death, the chilly beats are combined with a confusing bass which lead us into dark places, the incident repetitive beats do the rest, and thus creates an electronic trance that takes us away of the land of the damned.

The versatility of this Flemish artist is worldwide known, Bridges leads us to the alternative club scene, the bombastic rhythms are strengthed withmore chilling beats, razor-sharp sounds that form a perfect whole and make your body rumble. Dancing shoes are required for old school songs like Oppression and Nerve Net: monotonous hypnotic sounds that lead you to the dark underground club.

With Reconstructed Eric makes another dancefloor killer, the hard 130bpm techno beats are pumped in your mind and your body is completely under the influence of these masterful melodies.

In Dust Of India we discover repetitive ethnic sounds which are combined with the hypnotic and repetitive loops that lead us into an Asian trance, just like in Baigari with subdued exotic sounds and atmospheres that breathes some rest, even if you’re brutally awakened from this spiritual ecstasy by The Bell Witch: pure techno sounds and modern rhythms, and again dance material from the top shelf.

The rhythm ‘n noise fans are also pleased with Religion Of Peace: uncompromising hard beats topped with repetitive barbaric sounds and a bombast that makes your eardrums slowly melt. We finish with one of my personal favorites, Together As One: deep dark industrial techno beats that bring you into ecstasy, topped up with some electronic effects.

This Belgian artist, who has his base in Berlin now, presents us a pearl of rhythmic underground music. For three decades, Eric makes steamy beats, sometimes in combination with dark atmospheres and ethnic sounds, but always harmonious. A must for every fan of the genre, with (as always) new surprises and a perfect balance of ambient, tribal, noise, soundscapes, and of course a tsunami of danceable beats. Immerse yourself in this sea of ​​industrial experimental sounds and enjoy this great album.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


NL

Twee jaar na zijn debuut ‘Crashed’ voor het Dotmunds Hands label is er nu de opvolger ‘Domination’. Eric Van Wonterghem (Sonar, ABC, Insect) kan als een veteraan in het genre beschouwd worden, maar dit wil zeker niet zeggen dat er van enige ‘retour’ al sprake zou zijn. Met zijn 9e album in totaal is het ook nu weer in de roos. Het hele donkere alternatieve elektronische pad wordt bewandeld, soms met hippe techno schoentjes, dan weer komen de zware industriële combat shoes tevoorschijn, ja er is zelfs plaats voor excentrieke sandalen om de nodige etnische klanken te lijf te gaan.

Openend met de titeltrack, aarzelend met de nodige elektronische effecten, en dan zijn ze daar, met militaire precisie worden dansbeats op je losgelaten, dit is de herkenbare massieve underground techno van Monolith, en de energetische industriële motor wordt gestart voor een 15 tracks durende muzikale belevenis.

Angstige klanken dan op 'Angel Of Death', de kille beats in combinatie met verwarrende bassen loodsen ons naar donkere oorden, de invallende repetitieve beats doen de rest, en zo wordt een elektronische trance gecreëerd die ons doet wegdromen naar het land der verdoemden.

Maar de veelzijdigheid van deze Vlaamse artiest is wereldwijd bekend, 'Bridges' brengt ons onherroepelijk naar het alternatieve club circuit, de bombastische ritmes krijgen na een tijdje de versterking van meer ijzingwekkende beats, messcherpe klanken die samenkomen tot een perfect geheel en door heel je lijf denderen. Dansschoenen aan dus, ook voor old school nummers als 'Oppression' en 'Nerve Net', monotone hypnotiserende geluiden die je wegvoeren naar een donkere underground club in de vroege uurtjes.

Maar met 'Reconstructed' schakelt Eric nog een tandje hoger, een echte dansvloerknaller, stilzitten is hier niet meer aan de orde, de harde 130bpm techno beats veroveren je geest en laten je niet meer los tot je lichaam zich volledig overgeeft aan deze magistrale melodieën.

In 'Dust Of India' wordt de Disco Buddha vakkundig ingeruild voor een praktiserende hindoe, de repetitieve etnische klanken in combinatie met de hypnotiserende en terugkerende loops brengen ons in een Aziatische trance, zo ook in 'Baigari', de ingetogen exotische klanken en atmosferen geven een gevoel van totale overgave en rust, om dan weer brutaal te ontwaken uit deze geestelijke extase met 'The Bell Witch', pure techno geluiden met opwindende en moderne ritmes, en nogmaals dansmateriaal van de bovenste plank.

Ook de rhytm’ n noise liefhebbers komen aan hun trekken, met ‘Religion Of Peace’ worden compromisloze harde beats overgoten met repetitieve barbaarse geluiden en geserveerd met de nodige bombast en laten zo je trommelvliezen langzaam wegsmelten. Eindigen met een van mijn persoonlijke favorieten, ‘Together As One', diepe donkere techno industriële beats die je in vervoering brengen, opgetopt met de nodige elektronische effecten, aarzelende samples en gekleurde klanken

Deze Belgische artiest, die ondertussen zijn basis heeft in Berlijn presenteert ons hier een pareltje in ritmische underground muziek. Al drie decennia lang brengt Eric ons stomende beats, soms in combinatie met donkere atmosferen of etnische klanken, maar die steeds een harmonisch en soms zelf een euforisch gevoel geven met de nodige ruimte voor persoonlijke fantasie. Een must dus voor elke liefhebber van het genre met steeds weer nieuwe verrassingen en een perfecte balans vormen tussen ambient, tribal, noise, soundscapes en natuurlijk een tsunami aan dansbare beats. Laat je onderdompelen in deze zee van industriële experimentele klanken en geniet van dit heerlijk album.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
DINOSAUR JR. • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino 16-06-2016
LISA CUTHBERT • Kinky Star, Ghent (15/06/2016)
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
SAMARIS • Antwerp, Trix (15/06/2016)
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • Songs To Fall And Forget
PATENBRIGADE: WOLFF • Trabantenstadt
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
THE CULT OF FREE LOVE • Love Revolution
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody

 

Other reviews from MONOLITH
MONOLITH • Crashed
MONOLITH • The Inner Core

 

Same genre: DANCE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DMX KREW • You Exist
XYMOX • Phoenix
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In
UNDERWORLD • Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret