tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game

MORTEN TYDLUM

The Imitation Game

MovieCinema
HistoricalSpy Movie
Paradiso
17/01/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Besides the one for Marion Cotillard, this year’s Oscar nominations are again predictable. We hope that Birdman by Alejandro González Iñárritu ( the best film you can see in 2015) will be the big winner, but something makes us think that The Imitation Game by Morten Tyldum (the Norwegian director of the much underrated Headhunters ) will take the statues home. Do not get us wrong, The Imitation Game is a decent film (and even more than that), it is only a very safe one that never goes outside the lines.

This classic biopic is about the mathematician Alan Turing (Benedict Cumberbatch). The man should be a hero in a perfect world, but he took his own life because the British authorities accused him of obscenities because of his homosexuality. Turing is a shy prodigy who invented a machine that cracked the Enigma code (a language that was used by the Germans to communicate about their targets). Historians claim that thanks to this invention, the Second World War has lasted two years less, and that Turing saved thousands of lives.

You could say that The Imitation Game is this year’s The King's Speech: solid performances with Benedict Cumberbatch in a starring role, and of course Keira Knightley, who play once again a typical British girl with an anarchic character. About Morten Tyldums approach we are less satisfied. The Norwegian just does what he must do, but for example the inner monster which Turing has to deal with (his fight against his gay sexuality - you could end up in a prison cell in the beginning of the 50s in England for that) is made in a sweet crunchy Disney way. Even more, Tydlum sees that part almost as a detail that he is obliged to pay attention to. Do not expect espionage intrigues (although there is a double agent in the organization) or complicated dialogues about codes. No, The Imitation Game is almost an innocent costume drama with the Second World War as a background. Very decent, but a little too sweet. An 007 for the Oscars!

Didier BECU
17/01/2015


NL

Behalve de nominatie voor Marion Cotillard, zijn de Oscarnominaties ook dit jaar opnieuw ongelooflijk voorspelbaar. We hopen dat Birdman van Alejandro González Iñárritu (de beste film die je in 2015 kan zien) de grote slokop wordt, maar iets laat ons vermoeden dat wellicht The Imitation Game van Morten Tyldum (de Noorse regisseur van het fel onderschatte Headhunters) de beeldjes mee naar huis zal nemen. Neen, begrijp ons niet verkeerd, The Imitation Game is een geslaagde film (en zelfs meer dan dat), alleen is het een uiterst veilige film die nooit buiten de lijntjes kleurt.

Deze klassieke biopic gaat over de wiskundige Alan Turing (Benedict Cumberbatch) die in een rechtvaardige wereld een held zou zijn, maardie zich van het leven berooft omdat de Britse autoriteiten hem wegens zijn homoseksuele geaardheid van obsceniteiten beschuldigen. Turing is een wereldvreemd wonderkind dat een machine uitvond waarmeee de Enigma-code (een taal die de Duitsers gebruikten om te communiceren over hun doelwitten) werd gekraakt. Historici beweren dat dankzij deze uitvinding de Tweede Wereldoorlog twee jaar minder lang heeft geduurd, en dat Turing dus duizenden levens heeft gered.

Je zou gerust kunnen zeggen dat The Imitation Game de King’s Speech van dit jaar is: degelijke vertolkingen met opnieuw Benedict Cumberbatch in een glansrol, en natuurlijk ook Keira Knightley, die nog maar eens een typische Britse meid met een anarchistisch karaktertje mag spelen. Over Morten Tyldums aanpak zijn we minder tevreden. De Noor doet wat hij moet doen, maar de innerlijke monsters waarmee Turing heeft af te rekenen (zijn verzet tegen zijn homosexualiteit, waar je in het begin van de jaren 50 in Engeland in de cel voor kon belanden) wordt op een te zeemzoeterige Disneywijze in beeld gebracht. Meer zelfs, Tydlum ziet het bijna meer als een detail waarmee hij verplicht is rekening te houden. Verwacht ook geen ingewikkelde spionageintriges (ofschoon er een dubbelagent in de organisatie zit) of gecompliceerde dialogen over codes. Neen, The Imitation Game is bijna een onschuldig kostuumdrama met de Tweede Wereldoorlog als achtergrond. Zeer degelijk, maar net iets te braaf. Typisch Oscarvoer dus!

Didier BECU
17/01/2015


17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game 17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game 17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game 17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game 17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game 17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game 17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game 17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game 17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game 17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game 17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game 17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game 17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game 17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game 17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game 17/01/2015 : MORTEN TYDLUM - The Imitation Game

Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My