tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

14/12/2015 : MY BABY - Ghent, De Charlatan (11/12/2015)

MY BABY

Ghent, De Charlatan (11/12/2015)

Concert
14/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

By now, the Flemish concept of Glimps (Ghent) is kind of familiar: during three days you can discover the bands that are most interesting to follow. A commendable initiative, even though many genres are totally ignored.

Peek-A-Boo opted for My Baby. If you are not Dutch, then the name probably means nothing to you, but in homeland Holland this trio already sold out the large venue Paradiso. "No problem," said the extremely sympathetic Cato, "our band always did it all alone and everything we reached is done by our audience". Well, if that is the way to make it, then it will be no problem for My Baby to conquer Flanders too. Despite the early hour (two o’clock in the afternoon) and a too short set (25 minutes) Cato, her brother Daniel and Joost managed within the shortest time to overwhelm the venue with their talent.

Even though we like the second album Shamanaid, recently is released by Starman Records in Belgium, My Baby is first and foremost a live band.

For most of the attendees My Baby was a brand new band, but from the first note you noticed that this trio is formed by experienced professionals who handle their instruments (from self-built guitars to a violin) as masters. Most songs of the (way too short) set came from the second album. If you fail to describe the sound of this Dutch band on CD, then it even is a more difficult assignment when My Baby plays live, a delicious mixture of indie, funk, rock and blues and a considerable amount of crazy energy.

Cato apparently was impressed by the enthusiastic audience. The public realized that it saw a great lady (with an even bigger voice) at work. Afterwards, the Dutch singer almost apologized for the praise she received. Not necessary at all, with such a sound (and especially talent) My Baby’s fame will only expand.

Didier BECU
14/12/2015


NL

Het concept van Glimps is ondertussen meer dan bekend: in een recordtempo van drie dagen probeert men in de Gentse binnenstad de muziekliefhebber te tonen welke bands het meest interessant zijn om te volgen. Een lovenswaardig initiatief, ook al worden jammer genoeg heel wat genres over het hoofd gezien.

Peek-A-Boo koos voor My Baby. Als je geen Nederlander bent, zegt de naam je misschien bitter weinig, maar dit drietal verkocht in zijn thuisland al Paradiso uit. “Geen nood,” vertelde de uiterst sympathieke Cato aan deze reporter, “onze groep heeft het steeds helemaal alleen geklaard en we staan er vandaag dankzij ons publiek”. Als dat de manier is om het te maken, dan zal het voor My Baby wellicht ook geen probleem zijn om Vlaanderen in te palmen. Ondanks het ondankbare vroege uur (twee uur ’s middags) en een veel te korte set (25 minuten), slaagden Cato, broer Joost en Daniel er binnen de kortste tijd in om de aardig volgelopen Charlatan van hun talent te overtuigen.

Ook al waren we op onze pagina’s te spreken over hun tweede plaat Shamanaid die onlangs door Starman Records in België werd uitgebracht, is My Baby in de allereerste plaats een liveband. Want, wat een kracht zeg!

Voor de meeste aanwezigen was My Baby een nieuwe en te ontdekken band, maar vanaf de eerste noot merkte je dat dit trio ervaren rotten bevat die hun instrumenten (van zelfgebouwde gitaren tot een viool) perfect beheersen. De meeste nummertjes uit hun (veel te korte) set kwamen uit hun tweede plaat. Als je op cd er niet in slaagt om deze Nederlandse band te omschrijven, dan is dat live nog een moeilijkere opdracht omdat My Baby aan zijn heerlijke brouwsel van indie, funk, rock en blues ook nog een flinke portie energie toevoegt.

Cato was blijkbaar sterk onder de indruk van het enthousiaste publiek dat besefte dat het een grote dame (met nog een grotere stem) aan het werk zag. Na afloop verontschuldigde de Nederlandse zich bijna voor de lof die ze kreeg. Niet nodig, met zo’n geluid (en vooral talent) kan hun roem zich alleen maar uitbreiden.

Didier BECU
14/12/2015


Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace