tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/12/2015 : MY BABY - Shamanaid

MY BABY

Shamanaid

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelicRiot Grrrl

[76/100]   

Starman Records
13/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

For the average music lover, the name My Baby probably sounds obscure. And yet, this Dutch band who took its band name from a Jimi Hendrix-text already reached some goals that many musicians would be jealous of. The trio already played at Glastonbury and Seasick Steve himself asked them to join him on his UK tour. Indeed facts that make the head spin, but Joost, Daniel and Cato stay with their feet on the ground.

Shamanaid is the second album by this trio that is now promoted in Belgium by Starman Records as they hope to conquer this country too. Of course The Netherlands has its charms, nevertheless this CD never sounds one second as if it was recorded in Amsterdam. Their quirky (albeit successful) mix of blues, folk, funk and world music has more the charm of say Louisiana then the land of clogs. But,so what? Shamanaid is an adventurous album with ten songs that show the diversity of the trio.

Right from the opener Seeing Red you can notice how open-minded My Baby is. All styles can fit in one song, with even a touch of dub reggae. Even though the first song can be considered as a gentle middle finger to those who pretend that they have the right to fuck up this planet, My Baby is optimistic. Meet Me At The Wishing Well makes you think of a beach chair, and no: it's not the kind of holiday music that you immediately turn off when it’s coming out of your speakers. Uprising contains some experiment, and reminds us of what Back To The Planet did in the 90s. But it's for one song only, as My Baby (yes, we repeat ourselves) loves diversity. The Doors Of Your Mind or 6X2 could be lifted from Joni Mitchell’s colourful song book. Mary Morgan has a great country guitar that even sounds a tad like Dolly Parton (and no, we write it with respect!)

Shamanaid is an easy album, but also difficult because My Baby doesn’t belong to one category.

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


NL

De naam My Baby zegt de doorsnee muziekliefhebber misschien niet bijster veel, toch heeft deze Nederlandse band die zijn groepsnaam uit een Jimi Hendrix-tekst haalde een parcours afgelegd waar menig muzikant jaloers op woordt. Zo stond het drietal al op Glastonbury of werd het door Seasick Steve in eigen persoon meegevraagd op zijn Britse toer. Het zijn inderdaad feiten je hoofd doen duizelen, gelukkig blijven Joost, Cato en Daniel mooi met hun voeten op de grond staan.

Shamanaid is het tweede album van dit drietal, waarvan Starman Records in België nu de promotie voert en waarmee men hoopt dit landje ook te kunnen veroveren. Nederland heeft natuurlijk zijn charmes, desalniettemin klinkt het allesbehalve alsof deze cd in Amsterdam is opgenomen. Hun eigenzinnige (weliswaar geslaagde) mix van blues, folk, funk en wat wereldmuziek situeer je nu eenmaal eerder met pakweg Louisiana dan met het land van de klompen. Maar, wat zou het? Shamanaid is een avontuurlijke plaat met tien nummers die de diversiteit van het trio tonen.

Meteen in de opener Seeing Red valt het op hoe ruimdenkend dit trio wel is. Alle stijlen moeten in één song kunnen, zelfs een vleugje dubreggae. Ook al is het eerste nummer een middelvinger naar mensen die vinden dat zij het recht hebben om deze planeet te verkloten, is My Baby optimistisch ingesteld. Bij Meet Me At The Wishing Well denk je alleen aan een strandstoel, en het is niet het soort vakantiemuziek waarbij je de geluidsknop de mond snoert. Uprising is niet vies van enig experiment, en doet wat denken aan wat Back To The Planet in de jaren 90 deed. Maar het is maar voor één nummertje, want My Baby houdt (ja, we vallen in herhaling) vooral van diversiteit. Zo konden The Doors Of Your Mind of 6X2 uit het kleurrijke songboek van Joni Mitchell komen. Mary Morgan heeft een lekker countrygitaartje dat zelfs een tikkeltje naar Dolly Parton neigt (en neen, we schrijven dit met respect!)

Shamanaid is weliswaar een gemakkelijke plaat, maar anderzijds een moeilijke omdat My Baby niet past in één hokje. 

Didier BECU
13/12/2015


 

Next reviews
DAVID CARRETTA • Two Decades: A Retrospective
LUDOVIK MATERIAL • Model Generation
MAIA VIDAL • The Tide
MARC-ANDRE HAMELIN • John Cage/Karlheinz Stockhausen (Antwerpen, deSingel, 10/12/2015)
FISH • London,Islington Assembly Hall (05/12/15)
PETER BELLAERT (KONER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PHANTOM CRUX • Synesthesia
GOLDEN EARRING • Five Zero (Antwerpen, De Roma, 09/12/2015)
ELS MORTELMANS (KONER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ABRAXAS • Totem

 

Other reviews from MY BABY
MY BABY • Ghent, De Charlatan (11/12/2015)

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions

 

Same genre: RIOT GRRRL
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
HOLE • My Body, The Hand Grenade
DILLY DALLY • Sore
NOTS • We Are Nots
PIQUET • Heywawisze
SHIT PRESENT • Shit Present
GIRLS AT OUR BEST • Pleasure
PEAKING LIGHTS • Cosmic Logic

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
16
06
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)
Persona Non Grata
15
06
PURE GROUND
Second Skin
14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
13
06
LISSA GARRED & JULES MAXWELL
Noyalain (Burn) (Official Video)
12
06
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth