tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

10/12/2016 : MY OWN SORROW - Entity

MY OWN SORROW

Entity

MusicDigital
EBMGothicHorrorIndustrial

[80/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This Swedish act was formed in 2014 and The Entity is the third release. The man behind this project is Patrik Sandermo, founder and DJ (including WGT and Amphi) and the goth club Bat Night. The lyrics on this third album are inspired by the work of Edgar Allan Poe and HP Lovecraft. The classics of the genre.

You can describe the music as EBM, darkwave/electro. The whole has a cinematic feel. Some songs would do well as the soundtrack for a horror movie. Opener No Escape includes vampire-like vocals and has a cinematic monologue: an ambient and EBM sounding song. In Succubus, the emphasis is on industrial dark tinted electro: a strong track for the club circuit. The vocals sound like a sinister whisper that evokes spirits.

The Entity is a soundtrack-like song with a rather sinister intro: the female background chants reinforce the oppressive atmosphere. The recurring melody also adds to the suspense. Posses The Machine seems to be the victim of chaos, partly because of the added noise. Brooding is less strong, but Rats in the Wall, with dark EBM influences, is simply splendid.

Apart from two lesser moments, the songs are strong enough to convince. Those who love dark darkwave and industrial sounding electro, will certainly like this!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Deze Zweedse act is ontstaan in 2014 en The Entity is al de derde release. De man achter dit project is Patrik Sandermo, oprichter en DJ (ook o.a. op WGT en Amphi) van de gothclub Bat Night. De teksten op dit derde album zijn geïnspireerd op het werk van Edgar Allan Poe en HP Lovecraft. De klassiekers van het genre dus.

Je kan de muziek omschrijven als EBM, darkwave-elektro… Het geheel heeft een filmisch karakter. Een aantal songs doen het beslist goed als soundtrack van een horrorfilm. Opener No Escape bevat bijv. vampierachtige zang en een filmische monoloog: een ambient en EBM-aandoende song. In Succubus ligt de nadruk eerder op donkere industrial getinte elektro: een sterke track voor het clubcircuit. De vocals klinken als sinister gefluister alsof ze geesten oproepen.

Ook titeltrack The Entity is een soundtrackachtige song met een vrij duistere intro: de vrouwelijke achtergrondgezangen versterken het beklemmende sfeertje. Het terugkerende melodietje draagt ook bij aan de suspense. Posses The Machine lijkt dan wat in chaos ten onder te gaan, mede door het toegevoegde geruis. Brooding is eerder begeleidingsmuziek en als song daarom minder sterk. Rats in the Wall is sterk en donker en voorzien van EBM-invloeden.

Behalve twee mindere momentjes, is de rest van de songs sterk genoeg om te overtuigen. Wie van donkere darkwave en industrial klinkende elektro houdt, zal hier zeker zijn gading vinden, vooral omdat Sandermo een niche opzoekt die zich wat verder van de platgetreden paden bevindt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : MY OWN SORROW - Entity 10/12/2016 : MY OWN SORROW - Entity

 

Next reviews
SAVA.GEO • Zeitgeist
KEEP BREATHING • Call of Youth
SEED FROM THE GEISHA • Point Nemo
WAVE-GOTIK-TREFFEN 2016 • Leipzig (Germany)
INTENT:OUTTAKE • Neustart
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey

 

Same genre: EBM
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: HORROR
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
ORGAN • Tetro
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
LEIGH WHANNELL • Insidious: Chapter 3
JENNIFER KENT • The Babadook
MICHAEL WADLEIGH • Wolfen
MARINO GIROLAMI • Zombi Holocaust
JOE DANTE • Burying The Ex
• INTRUDERS - SEASON 1
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall