tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

19/07/2018 : NAUT - Raise The Lights

NAUT

Raise The Lights

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic RockPost Punk

[88/100]   

Self-released
19/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From across the waves, on the other side of the Channel, the first EP from NAUT a Bristol-based 5-star band, drifts into our mailbox. "Raise The Lights". The shared love of the artists who inhabit this band is postpunk, classic rock and metal, with a sufficiently dark edge to touch on goth rock. But they have more in their arsenal than that.

They sail in with the tones of “Disintegration”. Rough and tangled guitars and a cork-dry rhythm section, which strikes like waves, hard against the rocky coast. It is sufficiently danceable for the first generation goth rockers who seem to float weightlessly over a dirty dance floor. “They are there”, I thought, but they shout out: “I'm Here”. The second track, a monster of a bass line starts the raw post punk song’s progress, a blissful melody follows after.

The title song “Raise The Lights” is another piece of the galaxy, a Milky Way system shot further in some Black Hole: goth rock and wave, more drastic, black edges burned on it. Also the vocal is darker. Still a gem, though.

In “Frames,” synthesizers are given a role, with an epic bass line as a companion. The guitars need to be content with a supporting role, although in reality, they still hold the reins. In the refrain they put on a shoegaze guise and the strings are under pressure for more than 6 minutes!

“XVI” rocks to the end of the road and many of you readers will think of a very big name from the goth rock genre. Now it would be foolish of me to say who. Give this EP a listen and let it penetrate into the depths of your black soul. Wasn’t there a band that sprang from the same island, there in the underground, who released a song from one of their few studio albums called More? I want more... and that is what has to be said. Please Bristol guys of NAUT: give me more !!!!!!!!!!!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/07/2018


NL

Van over de plas, van de andere zijde van het Kanaal, waait de eerste EP van NAUT, een in Bristol gewortelde 5-koppige band, in onze mailbox: Raise The Lights.De artiesten die deze band bevolken, delen een voorliefde voor postpunk, klassieke rock en metal, met een voldoende duister randje om ook de gothrock te aaien. Maar ze hebben meer in hun mars dan dat.

Ze varen binnen op de tonen van Disintegration. Rauwe en snerpende gitaren en een kurkdroge ritmesectie slaan als golven steenhard tegen de rotskust. Het rockt voldoende en is dansbaar voor de gothrockers uit de eerste generatie die als het ware gewichtloos over een smerige dansvloer zweven. They are there, dacht ik, maar ze schreeuwen uit: I’m Here. Een gedrocht van een baslijn trekt de rauwe postpunksong in gang, een zalige melodie komt er achter aan gesneld.

Titelsong Raise The Lights is een ander stuk van de galaxy, een melkwegstelsel verder in één of ander zwart gat ontsproten: gothrock en wave, slepender, de zwarte randen erin gebrand. Ook vocaal is het donkerder. Een pareltje, dat wel.

In Frames krijgen synthesizers een rolletje toebedeeld, met een epische baslijn als metgezel. De gitaren moeten tevreden zijn met een bijrol, hoewel ze op hun manier toch ritmisch de lakens uitdelen. In de refreinen verkleden ze zich in shoegaze-outfit en worden de snaren maximaal onder spanning gezet… meer dan 6 minuten lang.

XVI rockt een eind weg en zal menigeen van u lezersaan een heel grote naam uit het gothrockgenre doen denken. Nu zou het flauw zijn dat ik zeg wie. Gun deze EP een luisterbeurt en laat het je doordringen tot in het diepste van je zwarte ziel.

Was er ooit geen band die op datzelfde eilandje aldaar ontsproot in de underground, die op één van de weinige studio-albums kweet van een song genaamd More. I want more… en daarmee is ook gezegd wat er gezegd moet worden. Please Bristol guys of NAUT: give me more !!!!!!!!!!!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/07/2018


 

Next reviews
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER • Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
SIMPLE MINDS • Walk Between Worlds
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES • Joy Division, Paroles de fan
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
NEGANT • No !
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
LES NEGRESSES VERTES • Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RAZORLINE • Razorline
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
FADING RAIN • Winter Ballads
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
PIG • Pain Is God
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

Music reviews

05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!
01
05
Dark Ambient Act LONG THE NIGHT Reveals The Ominous & Melancholic Illusion
30
04
Dark Ambient Act IN THE ABSENCE OF WORDS Reveals Their Compilation, A Collection I

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight
30
04
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
God Is Dead
29
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated