tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

Berlin-Ouest is a young Belgian band that already is a solid name in the local post-punk scene. We asked one of the founders, Nicolas Van Damme, to present the ten records that changed his life.

1. QUEEN - Greatest Hits I & II 
This is my first album, two in one, I was 9 years old. I was a big fan of Queen, and afterwards rock 'n roll became a passion (those guys were gods).

2. U2 - The Joshua Tree 
Magical tracks, and Bono had a real voice at the time. If you travel to other countries in all seasons, listen to The Joshua Tree, it is brilliant.

3. JOY DIVISION – The Best Of 
I learned to love post-punk with this album : energy, emotion, magic and rage. The kind of music I always was looking for, and Joy Division is the bible for this kind of music to me, and I'm not the only one to think so.

4. THE CURE – Pornography
After a lot of spins, this album is completely in my soul (laughs). A Strange Day is a great song and I've discovered cold wave this way.

5. LA FEMME – Psycho Tropical Berlin 
A real new wave revival, a mix of nostalgy and modernity in French, that is why I created my band Berlin-Ouest.

6. PLACEBO – Placebo
What a great rock band! Brian Molko and his guys cultivated ambiguity like David Bowie, but with more guitars and heavy drums.

7. RENAUD – Boucan d'Enfer
One of my heroes, a man who can change the world with words. When I think of his lyrics, I try to be like him, he’s a real inspiration since I’m 11. And this album is Renaud's come back after dark years of alcohol and self-destruct.

8. PIERRE RAPSAT – Tous Les Rêves
A live album, my father gave it to me after the death of Pierre Rapsat. For a lot of Belgians his death was a shock, beautiful songs and a great singer.

9. LED ZEPPELIN - I
I had a great passion for 70's rock when I was teenager, Jimmy Page was my favorite guitarist and I copied his guitar style. Now I've forgotten Led Zeppelin, but I know how great the band was.

10. DIRE STRAITS – On The Night
One of the albums that makes me cry with the saddest songs (laughs). A great live album and a perfect ending for this band. Dire Straits changed my musical perception and my life too.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings