tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

We asked Sal-Ocin (or if you prefer the real name of Empusae's master mind Nicolas Van Meirhaeghe) to come up with ten records that changed his life...

1. NAMANAX - Audiotronic
The album I listened to the most in my life since at least 15 years: melodic, repetitive dreamy noise drones. A masterpiece and my number one album of all time!

2. COIL - Music to Play in the Dark 1&2
The best albums of these masters of bizarre which marked my life. Extreme intelligent soundtrack for nocturnal listening.

3. MICHAEL NYMAN & DAMON ALBARN - Ravenous (OST)
A soundtrack for a little-known movie about cannibalism: weird, haunting, beautiful with humourous accents. A surprising symbiosis between two complete different composers.

4. PETER BJARGO - A Wave Of Bitterness
My friend and brother in arms (Onus) with his underestimated debut solo album. So much sorrow and melancholy with delicate instrumentation and...his voice....!

5. HECQ - Nightfalls
Ben is an amazing and talented artist who turns different (electronic) styles into gold. This particular album is a pure ambient melodic homage to his father. Each time the music touches me very, very deep and intense.

6. VIDNA OBMANA - The Inferno Trilogy: Tremor + Spore + Legacy
The best representation of ritual ambient tribal music. Dirk Serries combined all elements such as rhythms, drones, melodies to get a blend of ethnic, post-industrial, ritualistic elements. I have very much respect for this artist.

7. PORCUPINE TREE - Fear Of A Blank Planet
A huge discovery of a few years ago. A friend gave me the live performance of the album. I was shocked at how good it was. Steven Wilson's highlight in a long and vast career. Post-rock with a poppy touch and yet, very dark and melancholic.

8. J.S. BACH - De Occulta Philosophia
Extreme addictive interpretation of Bach's BWV 1001 & 1004. The music is played on a Baroque lute. One version of BWV 1004 contains a soprano and contratenor and is close to the most beautiful music I ever heard. Bach has always been the most influential composer for Empusae's compositions.

9. STORM CORROSION - Storm Corrosion
Steven Wilson and Mikael Akerfeldt (Opeth) teaming up during/after Steven produced Opeth's album Heritage. The result contains the best virtues of both artists, but on a new level. Delicate, virtuous post-rock with, for me personally, references to 70s. A piece of Art!

10. BARST/TREHA SEKTORI/RM 74 - Tri Muerti
An epic album of genius Bart Desmet, aided by Dehn Sorah and Reto Mäder. Best album on our label so far, said Mike Keirsbilck when the album came out. And I agree, although Bart's upcoming solo album will be something huge. Nobody will be prepared for it and will be blown away...far away!

Foto van Nicolas: Leon De Bakker

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!
16
07
Today, Blutengel released their brand-new Album 'Erlösung - The Victory of Light'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My