tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : NIGHTMEN - Fifteen Minutes of Pain

NIGHTMEN

Fifteen Minutes of Pain

MusicCD
GaragerockRock n' Roll

[85/100]   

Lövely Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ramones and The Undertones used to make songs which lasted 1 or 3 minutes. Nightmen continues that tradition: well pointed and concise songs with catchy choruses, like the opener Hot Days. The song has a summery atmosphere, it is pure rock 'n roll. The vocals and melodies are just irresistible.

Go Go tends more towards the sound of early Blondie. On I Do not Give A Damn, Nightmen makes me think of the Belgian punk band The Kids. This is garage rock of the better kind: it sounds simple, but it's ingeniously made and has some good melodies. Sometimes it’s punky and then it’s power pop.

I Only Want You makes me think of Herman Brood. OK, we use many references, but those who like these influences, will like this album, although Nightmen has its very own sound.

12 tracks with a total of 28 minutes of listening pleasure. In times of complex concept albums, this is a relief. Hell yeah, let's rock and roll. Fifteen Minutes of Pain? Certainly not, and if they can bring that same energy on stage, then I hope they soon will play in Belgium. I'm a fan already. What about you ?

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

In de tijd van Ramones en The Undertones waren songs van 1 of 3 minuten geen uitzondering. Nightmen zet deze traditie voort: puntige en bondige songs met catchy refreinen zoals in de opener Hot Days. De song straalt een zomers sfeertje uit en is pure rock 'n roll. De zanglijnen zijn onweerstaanbaar.

Op Go Go horen we een zangeres die naar de vroege Blondie neigt. In feite zijn ze met z'n drieën en nemen afwisselend de vocals voor hun rekening. Op I Don’t Give A Damn doen ze me wat aan The Kids denken. En zo vliegen we als een sneltrein doorheen het album en dus ook doorheen de muziekgeschiedenis. Dit is garagerock van het betere soort: het klinkt simpel, maar het zit vernuftig in elkaar en bevat goede melodielijnen. Soms punky en dan weer powerpop.

I Only Want You laat Herman Brood herrijzen. OK, we gebruiken veel verwijzingen, maar wie van al deze invloeden houdt, zal dit zeker appreciëren, zo veel is zeker en het betekent niet dat de muziek geen eigen smoel heeft.

12 tracks goed voor in totaal 28 minuten speel- en luisterplezier. In tijden van ingewikkelde conceptalbums, een verademing. Hell yeah, let’s rock and roll. Fifteen Minutes of Pain? Zeker niet en als ze die energie ook nog op het podium kunnen brengen, dan hoop ik dat ze snel ons land aan zullen doen. Ik ben nu al fan. Nu jullie nog.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : NIGHTMEN - Fifteen Minutes of Pain 09/12/2016 : NIGHTMEN - Fifteen Minutes of Pain

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back