tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/11/2015 : NIMON - Fear of Change

NIMON

Fear of Change

MusicCD
DroneExperimentalIndustrial

[80/100]   

Ant-Zen
06/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

On his fourth album, Keef Baker makes compositions in which guitar drones evoke a variety of moods: a cross between melancholy and happiness. If you get the chance to change your life, he says in the press release, grab it with both hands and overcome your fear by embracing change. We do not immediately see (or hear) the link with the guitar drone compositions on Fear for Change, but they all sound euphoric.

A New Job in a New Town rolls out of the speakers like an orgasm of organ drones and reverberating chorus chants, while Leaving Your Friends Behind gets the same kind of euphoric sound and Blank Slate sounds much more industrial with whistling synths and electro noise, supplemented with growling drones. Throw it all Away is also an industrial track with drones and field recordings, while Replacements returns to the semi-religious atmosphere, with thick layers of good sounding guitar drones, and a similar approach in Anything is Possible and the emphatic Blazing Sun.

No Bed to Sleep On gets high-pitched synths, choir-like sounds and deep drones, while Shining Moon sounds like a reverie after the setting of the sun, semi-religious and full of expectation, whereby Things get in the Way almost seamlessly connects as an impressive orgasmic finale.

Emphatic, often bombastic, but also intimate and subdued, with an atmosphere that hovers between semi-religious and ecstatic.

Tracklist:

1. A New Job in a New Town
2. Leaving your Friends Behind
3. Blank Slate
4. Throw it all Away
5. Replacements
6. The Rough with the Smooth
7. Anything is Possible
8. Blazing Sun
9. No Bed to Sleep on
0. Shining Moon
1. Things Get in the Way

www.facebook.com/pages/nimon/219212371456613
https://mailorder.ant-zen.com/product/id/2655

William LIÉNARD
06/11/2015


NL

Op z’n vierde album trakteert Keef Baker ons op composities waarin gitaardrones een veelheid van stemmingen oproepen die het midden houden tussen melancholie en gelukzaligheid. Als je de kans krijgt om je leven te veranderen, zegt hij in het persbericht, grijp die dan met beide handen en overwin je angst door voor verandering te kiezen. We hebben zelf niet direct een verband kunnen leggen met de gitaardronecomposities op Fear for Change, maar ze klinken wel stuk voor stuk alsof er sprake is van een euforische stemming.

A New Job in a New Town rolt uit de speakers als een orgasme van orgelachtige drones en galmende koorgezangen, terwijl Leaving Your Friends Behind hetzelfde euforisch geluid krijgt en Blank Slate veel meer de industriële toer opgaat met fluitende synths en elektronoise, later aangevuld met grommende drones. Throw it all Away is ook een industriële track met drones en field recordings, terwijl Replacements weer eerder een semi-religieuze sfeer uitstraalt, met dikke lagen van goed klinkende gitaardrones, en een soortgelijk vervolg krijgt in Anything is Possible en het nadrukkelijke Blazing Sun.

No Bed to Sleep On krijgt hoge synths, koorzangachtige geluiden en diepe drones, terwijl Shining Moon een mijmering is na het ondergaan van de zon, semi-religieus en vol verwachting, waarbij Things get in the Way bijna naadloos aansluit als een indrukwekkende orgastische finale.

Nadrukkelijk, vaak bombastisch, maar ook intimistisch en ingetogen met een sfeer die zweeft tussen semi-religieus en extatisch.

William LIÉNARD
06/11/2015


06/11/2015 : NIMON - Fear of Change 06/11/2015 : NIMON - Fear of Change

 

Next reviews
DEHN SORA • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BLUE STAHLI • The Devil
DELETER • Seclusion
THE HAMSTERS • Salford 31-10-2015
LA HORDE • Dystopie
MARIANNE FAITHFULL • Gent, Vooruit (04/11/2015)
GEISTFORM • Tension
THE INSIGHT • White Noise
OST+FRONT • Sternenkinder
SAINTSENECA • Such Things

 

Other reviews from NIMON
NIMON • The King Is Dead
NIMON • Drowning In Good Intentions

 

Same combination of genres: DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
TREHA SEKTORI • The Sens of Dust and Sheer
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu
WOODBENDER / CINEMA PERDU /THE [LAW-RAH] COLLECTIVE • Blue Ruins Under Yellow Skies
EDGAR WAPPENHALTER, URPF LANZE & HELLVETE • Split ep

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace