tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

18/12/2012 : NOTHING BUT NOISE - Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

NOTHING BUT NOISE

Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

Concert
Analogue SynthDark AmbientElectronics

[85/100]   
18/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Following Job Karma, the 3rd band to take the stage at the BIM Fest was another ambient-electronic act, Nothing But Noise. This trio is led by Front 242 mastermind Daniel Bressanutti, who decided to reunite with another original Front 242 member, Dirk Bergen, after ca 30 years, to make music together again. They added a third man, Erwin Jadot, and together, they are going back to the roots of analog electronic music, with krautrock, Tangerine Dream, Kraftwerk, etc. Their idea is "to wonder what those musicians would play today". Their acclaimed debut album, "Not Bleeding Red", was released on UK independent Future Noise Music.

At the BIM Fest, the band played a set exclusively made of new tracks, with the exception of "Mooglish". The new tracks show a clear evolution of the sound toward a more edgy, rhythmic approach. The first song was a big surprise as it was a cover of Joy Division's "Love Will Tear Us Apart". In the interview of Daniel B. (see video below), we learned that it was done on purpose, "to throw the public off track". Standing behind a table full of equipment, the three members of the band were clearly in the background, leaving only the music in the spotlight, supported by magnificient video's. There were three laser machines on the tables, which were automated directly from the main sequencer. Check a video excerpt of the performance below ("Organz Of Existence"):

The band is clearly evolving very fast musically and sets no limits to its evolution. Some aspects of the new tracks are more noise-oriented, experimental. According to Daniel B., the new album is nearly ready and should be released pretty soon. When asked about the future of Front 242, Daniel B. said: "If we do something new, it will be reworks or live projects, but no new tracks. We did try, but we were not happy with the result."

Check the complete interview made after the set:

Setlist: Love (will tear us apart), Brush, Muddle, Mooglish, Organz Of Existence.

Have a look at the pictures of the concert by Xavier Marquis here.

Check the live video of "Mooglish", published by the band, here.

http://www.nothingbutnoise.be/
http://www.front242.com


 

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
18/12/2012


Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)