tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/02/2016 : NOVASTORM - Bad Taste

NOVASTORM

Bad Taste

MusicCD
ElectroElectronicsIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)IndustrialNew wavePop

[75/100]   

Sonic-X
02/02/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

The album has been out for a while, notwithstanding we are pleased to present Bad Taste by Nova Storm, a band from Darmstadt (Germany). After a long layoff (Bitch to the Bone dates from 2008) Nova Storm hits the dance floor with 14 killer tracks. It’s a project by Tandrin (Mechanical Moth) and Desdain, who want to create a new springtime for the electro scene with noisy beats and distorted drums.

Dark and light-hearted humming synths and percussion dominate the soundscape of Nova Storm. The pace is fairly high and therefore invites to move uncontrollably. Bass vocals provide a dark and slightly menacing atmosphere, occasionally supplemented with a woman's voice in the background. Don’t look for wisdom behind the (German) vocals, because this is music that aims solely on your sense of rhythm and tempo. It blows out of the speakers again and again and it turns the living room into a steamy dancefloor, and indeed, it all sounds exciting and melodic. It's hard to pick out one track, because the material is of a very balanced quality, but the single Unter deine Haut is a perfect example of what you can expect on this release.

Das ist der Tod der kommt, it sounds in the intro of Psychopath. But there is no question of a morbid atmosphere in this fast and melodious track that can tempt us, and Geigenzähler is quite cheerful too, despite the deep distorted voice. Headshots begins with a frayed nursery rhyme, but subsequently chooses the path of the rest of the material, while the jerky Icarus connects almost seamlessly. Novastorm sounds very much like Rammstein on this track, but the musical accompaniment is totally different and the synths whistle in your ears. Hazard gets a very emphatic industrial undertone and in Abschaum, a beautiful contrast is achieved between the playful electro sounds and the abrasive and distorted vocals.

No, Bad Taste has no bad tracks, but perhaps there is too little variation, though that hardly plays a role on the dance floor, where atmosphere is more important. And the guys from Nova Storm know very well how to create atmosphere!

William LIÉNARD
02/02/2016


NL

Het album is al een tijdje uit, maar toch stellen we u graag Bad Taste van Novastorm voor, een gezelschap uit Darmstadt (Duitsland) dat na een lange rustperiode (Bitch to the Bone dateert uit 2008) de dansvloer bestormt met 14 killertracks. Achter het project gaan Tandrin (Mechanical Moth) en Desdain schuil, die met luidruchtige beats en distorted drums de elektroscène een nieuwe lente willen laten beleven.

Donkere en luchthartige synths en ronkende percussie domineren het soundscape van Novastorm. Het tempo licht redelijk hoog en nodigt dus uit tot ongecontroleerd bewegen. Basvocalen zorgen voor een donkere en lichtjes dreigende sfeer, af en toe aangevuld met een vrouwenstem in de achtergrond. Maar achter de (Duitse) vocalen hoef je niet veel te zoeken, want dit is muziek die uitsluitend mikt op je gevoel voor ritme en tempo. Het knalt keer op keer uit de boxen alsof de huiskamer tot een stomende danstent is omgetoverd en het klinkt inderdaad allemaal onwaarschijnlijk spannend en melodisch. Het is moeilijk om er één track uit te kiezen, want het materiaal is van een zeer evenwichtige kwaliteit, en de single Unter deine Haut is een perfect voorbeeld van wat je op deze release mag verwachten.

Das ist der Tod der kommt, klinkt het in het intro van Psychopath, maar echt morbide wordt het niet in deze welluidende en jachtige track die ons echt wel kan bekoren, en ook Geigezähler blijft redelijk vrolijk ondanks de diepe distorted zangstem. Headshots begint met een rafelig kinderversje, maar kiest nadien het pad van de rest van het materiaal, waarbij het schokkerige Ikarus bijna naadloos aansluit. In deze track klinkt Novastorm wel heel erg als Rammstein, maar de muzikale begeleiding is uiteraard totaal anders, want de synths fluiten je om de oren. Hazard krijgt een zeer nadrukkelijke industriële ondertoon en in Abschaum wordt een mooi contrast gerealiseerd tussen de speelse elektroklanken en de schurende en distorted zangstemmen.

Nee, op Bad Taste staan eigenlijk geen slechte tracks, als is er misschien net iets te weinig sprake van variatie, maar op de dansvloer speelt dat nauwelijks een rol, want sfeer heeft daar voorrang op variatie en sfeer weten de heren van Novastorm perfect op te bouwen!

William LIÉNARD
02/02/2016


 

Next reviews
MINUIT MACHINE • Violent Rains
SUNFLOWER BEAN • Human Ceremony
PROTOMARTYR • The Agent Intellect
METROLAND • Things Will Never Sound The Same Again
ZA! • Loloismo
TOUCHING THE VOID • Love, Longing and Loss
LIZARD SMILE, 1919 • Eernegem, B52 (29/01/16)
FRONT242 • Detox Static EP
DISCOVER NEW MUSIC • IRIS VON GUL
MY CRUEL GORO • Clash EP

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
08
AMMO
Rose + Crown
05
08
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us