tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco

OLIVIER DAHAN

Grace Of Monaco

Movie
BiographyDrama

[65/100]   

E1
06/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Last year two biopics were totally ignored. One of them was Diana (am I really the only one who considers this film to be a little masterpiece?) And of course Grace Of Monaco. The story of Grace Kelly was from the start a catastrophe. There were not only the quarrels between director Olivier Dahan and Harvey Weinstein, the film was also slashed down by critics when it opened the Cannes Film Festival. Nicole Kidman probably expected an different reaction when she got the chance to play the most glorious film diva in cinema.

Grace Kelly deserves better, yet the film has some value. These positive words are merely due to Nicole Kidman. If you take a look at the movie poster, you immediately see that they couldn’t have found anyone better to play the roll of the Princess of Monaco than Kidman. Unfortunately Dahan didn’t want to make a traditional biography. We learn nothing about her childhood or how she met Rainier III (Tim Roth) (even though everyone knows that this was in Cannes), because the story starts in 1962. Meanwhile, Grace was thoroughly fed up with the parties (and possibly her boring husband ). Hitchcock went to Monaco to convince the princess to start in Marnie, but her husband objected. The sovereignty of Monaco was in great danger and therefore Grace better concentrated on her career as a princess.

It remains a mystery why Dahan chose such a quirky approach. Who wants to see a film about Grace Kelly with Nicole Kidman in the lead role that deals mainly with politics? Fortunately Kidman is great and proves once again that she is the most beautiful and best actress. Remember that Kidman is a 46 year-old woman who plays someone who’s just 30!

Grace Of Monaco is now out on DVD and Blu -ray via E One.

Didier BECU
06/11/2014


NL

Vorig jaar gingen er twee biopics volledig de mist in. Eentje daarvan was Diana (ben ik nu werkelijk de enige die deze film als een klein meesterwerk beschouwt?) en natuurlijk Grace Of Monaco. Met het verhaal over Grace Kelly liep het al vanaf het begin goed fout. Er waren niet alleen de ruzies tussen regisseur Olivier Dahan en Harvey Weinstein, ook werd de film door critici neergesabeld toen hij het Filmfestival van Cannes mocht openen. Nicole Kidman had het zich wellicht anders voorgesteld toen zij de kans kreeg om de meest glansrijke filmdiva uit de cinema te vertolken.

Olivier Dahan die in La Vie En Rose over het leven van Edith Piaf vertelde, is zeker niet in zijn opzet geslaagd. Grace Kelly verdient beter, toch heeft de film enige waarde. Deze positieve woorden zijn wel louter voor Nicole Kidman bestemd. Als je gewoon een blik op de filmaffiche werpt, weet je meteen dat men niemand beter had kunnen vinden dan la Kidman om de prinses van Monaco te vertolken. Jammer genoeg vond Dahan dat het niet nodig was om een traditionele biografie te vertellen. We komen niets te weten over haar jeugd of hoe ze ­Reinier III (Tim Roth) ontmoette (ook al weet iedereen dat dat in Cannes was), want alles begint in 1962. Ondertussen was Grace de feestjes (en wellicht ook haar saaie echtgenoot) grondig beu. Hitchcock reist af naar het prinsdom om de prinses ervan te overtuigen de hoofdrol in Marnie te accepteren, maar de vorst is er tegen. De soevereiniteit van Monaco loopt groot gevaar en daarom houdt Grace zich maar beter bezig met haar loopbaan als prinses. Achter de oogverblindende juwelen zit een energievolle vrouw verborgen die zich te pletter verveelt.

Het blijft een raadsel waarom Dahan voor zo’n eigenzinnige (weinig geslaagde) aanpak koos. Wie een film over Grace Kelly met Nicole Kidman in de hoofdrol wil zien, verwacht glamour. De enige praal die je in Grace Of Monaco te zien krijgt zijn de majestueuze baljurken; voor de rest concentreert Dahan zich op een saai politiek verhaal. Gelukkig weet Kidman de meubelen wat te redden door nog maar eens te tonen dat zij de mooiste en beste actrice is. Vergeet niet dat Kidman als 46-jarige een vrouw van 30 vertolkt, wie doet haar dat na? Niemand dus, alleen verdiende Grace een betere regisseur om haar levensverhaal op het witte doek te toveren. Wie weet, gebeurt dat ook, denk maar aan Steve Jobs!

Grace Of Monaco is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via E One.

Didier BECU
06/11/2014


06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco 06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco 06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco 06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco 06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco 06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco 06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco 06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco 06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco 06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco 06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco 06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco 06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco 06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco 06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco 06/11/2014 : OLIVIER DAHAN - Grace Of Monaco

 

Next reviews
CLARE LEWINS • I Am Ali
TINDERSTICKS • Ypres
BLEAK • Drinking Song
PETER JACKSON • The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug (Extended Edition)
MIKKEL NORGAARD • The Keeper Of The Lost Causes
23 SKIDOO • CLASSICS: Seven Songs
LAETTITIA SADIER • Something Shines
ANNABEL JANKEL & ROCKY MORTON • Super Mario Bros.
JAMES GRAY • The Immigrant
NICHOLAS STOLLER • Bad Neighbours

 

Same combination of genres: BIOGRAPHY + DRAMA
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
ANGELINA JOLIE • Unbroken
JEAN-MARC VALLEE • Dallas Buyers Club
JOHN CURRAN • Tracks
MARTIN SCORSESE • Raging Bull
MARTIN SCORSESE • The Wolf Of Wall Street
JOEL & ETHAN COEN • Inside llewyn Davis
LEE DANIELS • The Butler
ROB EPSTEIN & JEFFREY FRIEDMAN • Lovelace
STEVEN SODERBERGH • Behind The Candelabra

 

Same genre: BIOGRAPHY
PHILIP GLASS • Words Without Music/Woorden Zonder Muziek
MICHELLE MERCER • Will You Take Me As I Am (Joni Mitchell’s Blue Period)
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Robert Zemeckis: The Walk
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
CLINT EASTWOOD • American Sniper
JAMES MARSH • The Theory Of Everything
MORTEN TYDLUM • The Imitation Game
FLORIA SIGISMONDI • The Runaways
FRANCIS FORD COPPOLA • Tucker: The Man And His Dreams

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn