tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

26/03/2015 : ORPHANS OF DUSK - Revenant

ORPHANS OF DUSK

Revenant

MusicCD (EP)
Doom MetalGothic

[86/100]   

Hypnotic Dirge Records
26/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The debut EP of this New Zealand/Australian gothic-doom metal band has some elements from Type O Negative in its music. The self-released EP is out for some 6 months, but I wanted to review it anyway. Especially because they have now a deal with Hypnotic Dirge Records and Solitude Prod, that will release their debut internationally.

This EP shows us the many qualties of the trio. Growls are interpersed with vocal lines.There is much variation in the numbers in terms of rhythm, structure and the use of instruments.

Starters August Price and Starless both have unexpected transitions, gothic elements (haprsichord, synth sounds…), nice drum patterns and attractive melodies.

Nibelheim also has unexpected twist and turns, but it feels a little bit too forced. It seems like they want to throw all their good ideas in one song. Beneath the Cover of Night is a rather slow gothic metal song, but after some weird synth play it ends with a doom final.

This release isa melodic EP with many variations. I look forward to the full album of this band.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/03/2015


NL

Dit is de debuut-ep van deze Nieuw Zeelands/Australische gothic-doom metal band, die wat elementen van Type O Negative bevat. De release is intussen al een half jaartje uit, maar toch vond ik dat hij nog een review verdient, vooral omdat deze band nu een deal heeft met Hypnotic Dirge Records en Solitude Productions om hun werk te verdelen.

De ep toont dat dit trio heel wat in z'n mars heeft. Growls worden afgewisseld met stemmige zanglijnen. In de songs zit ook heel veel afwisseling, zowel op het vlak van ritme, structuur als instumentatie.

Opener August Price en Starless hebben allebei onverwachte overgangen, gothic elementen (clavecimbel, synthklanken, etc…), boeiende drumpatronen en aantrekkelijke melodieën. De gitaarriffs zijn overduidelijk doommetal.

Nibelheim heeft eveneens onverwachte wendingen, maar komt eerder wat geforceerd over. Het lijkt alsof men heel veel ideeën had, die men allemaal in één song wilde stoppen. Al bij al is het geen slechte nummer. Beneath the Cover of Night is eerder een traag opgebouwde gothicmetalballad. op het einde valt de song stil om na wat instrumentale spielerlei naar een laatste doomeindpunt toe te werken.

Het is een goed uitgewerkte, gevarieerde en melodieuze ep geworden. Ik kijk alvast uit naar een volwaardig album van deze band. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/03/2015


26/03/2015 : ORPHANS OF DUSK - Revenant 26/03/2015 : ORPHANS OF DUSK - Revenant

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
16
06
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)
Persona Non Grata
15
06
PURE GROUND
Second Skin
14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
13
06
LISSA GARRED & JULES MAXWELL
Noyalain (Burn) (Official Video)
12
06
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth