tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/09/2015 : P.I.L. - What The World Needs Now

P.I.L.

What The World Needs Now

MusicCD
Post PunkPunk

[80/100]   

PIL Official
07/09/2015, Paul PLEDGER

2012's This Is PiL still stands up as one of Lydon and co's most remarkable records and wasn't so much a comeback as a total rebirth. Three years on comes another double-vinyl set with the same line-up but a noticeable change of mood.

Less obviously reflective and autobiographical than its predecessor, What the World Needs Now is Lydon having fun with language (some of it decidedly fruity) while his charges Edmonds, Firth and Smith generate the kind of propulsive riffs, rhythms and bass-lines that made the likes of Album and Happy so engaging.

As with This is PiL, the opening track on WTWNN is the weakest - Double Trouble is all toilet-humour and marital rows, orchestrated by Lydon's best badly-behaved rantathon and mid-paced partially punkist pogoing that bears little similarity to the rest of this otherwise likeable collection. In fact much of What the World is verging on 'pop' - Spice of Choice bears a slight resemblance to Roxy's Love is the Drug (which is fine by me), The One is all a skanking riffed up variant on the Rise theme and works a treat and Bettie Page pays homage to the burlesque icon, as well as Mae West and Louise Brooks - it's all a dig at the double-standards of those who'd tut-tut at anyone who dares to bare flesh and soul in the 'land of the free, the pure absurd...' etc..

I'm partial to the MOR-isms of Big Blue Sky, a track that starts like a threatening dub warrior before going all melodically wide-eyed and wide-screen with a wash of keyboards and slow drums, while the following Whole Life Time and the classic I'm Not Satisfied appear to revisit the more personal side of Lydon's psyche with references to forgiveness, illnesses and impatience.

The album only teeters on the brink of padding-out with the closing Shoom. An admittedly nifty sub-disco groove gives way to a random 'fuck this, fuck that, fuck you' diatribe from Lydon before one decent verse arrives too late towards the end of the relentless barrage. In the vein of other curtain calls in the PiL repertoire such as Fodderstompf and Out of the Woods, Shoom is a motorik jam that outstays its welcome by a good few minutes. If you really want a display of punk vehemence, read his Anger is an Energy book.

Far from being the bitterest PiL, What the World Needs Now strikes this listener as a band at ease and having fun with itself and YOU the listener.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
07/09/2015


 

Next reviews
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
FLESH WORLD • The Wild Animals in my Life
MINIMAL COMPACT • The Figure one Cuts
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
IT'S A SYNTH • Curiosity
• THE BLACKLIST SEASON 2
NOYCE TM • Fall Out
JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST
MOTHER EMPIRE • The System

 

Other reviews from P.I.L.
P.I.L. • Antwerp, Trix (18/10/2015)

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
STRUGGLER • The Gap
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
SIEVEHEAD • Into the Blue
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
KANDAHAR • Bo Jeden to Szereg
DE BRASSERS • Antwerpen, De Kleine Hedonist (28/2/2015)
GIRLS AT OUR BEST • Pleasure
TRASH BOAT • Look alive EP
REGIMEN • S-T

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour