tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

PAOLO VIRZI

Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
Drama
Filmfest Gent
22/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In a way we really hate to say it, just because we want our own brothers Dardenne to win, but for us the Oscar from 2015 can be given again to Italy as Il Capitale Umano is really superb. Just like La Grande Bellezza by Paolo Sorrentino, this movie reminds of the big grandeur of Federico Fellini. It surely is not a coincidence that this movie is played at the FilmFest Ghent as there is until January a big exposition about the Italian master.

Just like Fellini, Paolo Virzì criticises and jokes with the upper rich. Virzì tells the story from a tragic accident. A bike rider is the victim of a hit and run-accident. While the man is in a deep coma, the police searches for the chauffeur. But who is he or she? Does he belong to the upper class or is he a poor one? And how do all those people react? The movie is both a Hitchcockian thriller and a bitter parody to the Italian society, even if the film is based upon an American book by Stephen Amidon. But then again I guess you find arrogant rich people everywhere!

Il Capitale Umano (The Human Capital) is a movie that sticks to your pants. It’s a bitter, but extremely intelligent comedy about the decline of today’s society. The Italian cinema is reborn, and of course with our excuses to our brothers in Liège.

The movie is also out in the UK-theatres through Arrow.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


NL

We zeggen het niet graag luidop, want we gunnen het onze broertjes Dardenne net iets te veel, maar wat ons betreft mag Italië in 2015 voor een tweede keer de Oscar halen. Il Capitale Umano wordt in 2015 veronderstelt te doen wat La Grande Bellezza van Paolo Sorrentino dit jaar deed. Het is al lang geen geheim meer dat de Italiaanse cinema het na zijn (iets te lange) dip weer uitstekend boert. Het is trouwens ook geen verrassing dat deze film in Gent wordt vertoond, want van de regisseur wiens naam je na enkele minuten prevelt (die van Federico Fellini dus) loopt er tot in januari een zeer interessante tentoonstelling.

Net als de Italiaanse grootmeester drijft Paolo Virzì de spot met de heersende klasse. Hij doet dit aan de hand van een tragisch ongeluk waarbij een fietser in coma raakt en de dader vluchtmisdrijf pleegt. De dader kan zowel bij de arme als bij de hogere klasse zitten. Paolo Virzì maakt van zijn film tegelijkertijd een Hitchcockiaanse thriller en een parodie op de superrijke Italianen, ofschoon de film is gebaseerd op een roman van de Amerikaanse auteur Stephen Amidon. Nu ja, de arrogantie van deze lui is nu ook eenmaal een universeel gegeven.

Il Capitale Umano (Het Menselijk Kapitaal) is een film die aan je broek blijft plakken. Een bittere, maar vooral intelligente komedie over de verloedering van de maatschappij. De Italiaanse cinema is herboren, met onze oprechte excuses aan de broers uit Luik.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect