tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2016 : PARA NORMAL - The Cold Room

PARA NORMAL

The Cold Room

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[72/100]   

Space Race Records
15/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

Again Mexico sends its sons. Of course, there is Hocico, which is the big name in the electro scene, but now we are introduced to the Mexican electro trio Para Normal.

After Evidence Is Everything, these guys present their second album The Cold Room. Their purpose is quite clear: to conquer the alternative dance floor. Their mix of dark synthpop, EBM, a touch of industrial and some dark wave is not something that you can put in one category easily. Anyway, I hear influences of Depeche Mode, New Order, Covenant or A Split Second.

The album contains 11 pure electric tracks, and Para Normal is clever enough to avoid doing the same song over and over. At the contrary, each track has its own character, but at the end of the day they all fit together. Dark rhythms, sometimes dreamy synths and dark beats that are complemented by harmonious, dark vocals. Do not expect any aggression on this album, just some nice synth pop with the occasional nod to the harder work. That's not surprising when you know that the mixing and mastering was done by Claus Larsen of Leather Strip fame.

Perhaps the intro’s of the songs are a bit too long to make them real dance floor killers, but Ghost Radio, Lies, Reaching Hands and Blind World should find their way to the dance floor.

Ruben SAEY
15/01/2016


NL

Mexico zendt zijn zonen uit. Hocico draait al een tijdje mee in het elektrowereldje en is een veel gevraagde liveband. Nu maken we kennis met het Mexicaanse elektrotrio Para Normal.

Na Evidence Is Everything laten deze jongens hun tweede album The Cold Room op de wereld los. Ze hebben daarmee maar één bedoeling: de alternatieve dansvloer veroveren. Met hun mix van duistere synthpop, EBM, een vleugje industrial en darkwave laten ze zich niet meteen in één vakje stoppen. Ik hoor invloeden van Depeche Mode, New Order, Covenant of A Split Second.

Het album bevat 11 pure elektrotracks zonder dat ze in herhaling vallen. Elk nummer heeft zijn eigen karakter, maar past mooi binnen het geheel. Duistere ritmes, soms wat zweverige synths en dark beats die aangevuld zijn met een harmonieuze, doch donkere zang. Agressie moet je op dit album niet verwachten, wel aangename synthpop met hier en daar een knipoog naar het hardere werk. Dat is niet verwonderlijk als je weet dat de mixing en mastering in handen was van Claus Larsen (Leather Strip).

Om echte dancefloorkillers te worden lijken de intro’s me wat te lang, al moeten Ghost Radio, Lies, Reaching Hands en Blind World toch wel de weg naar de dansvloer kunnen vinden.

Ruben SAEY
15/01/2016


15/01/2016 : PARA NORMAL - The Cold Room 15/01/2016 : PARA NORMAL - The Cold Room

 

Next reviews
THE PASSIONS • Michael & Miranda
LAMB • 5
THE SWEETEST CONDITION • Edge Of The World
DISCOVER NEW MUSIC • LOLA KUMTUS
ULTRAVOX • Vienna
QUAL • Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)
DISCOVER NEW MUSIC • VERSAILLES
ETHAN FAWKES • Evil In Veins
AROMA DI AMORE • Zin
ANVIL FX • Prova De Biologia

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
CYFERDYNE • Keep Your Silence
OBJECT • Mechanisms Of Faith

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: EBM
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour