tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

11/10/2015 : PARADISE LOST - Antwerp, Trix (10/06/2015)

PARADISE LOST

Antwerp, Trix (10/06/2015)

Concert
11/10/2015, Benny CALUWE

Paradise Lost returned to its death/doom origins with the critically acclaimed album The Plague Within. I didn’t want to miss the opportunity tho see them live again, it was too long ago. After we had outfaced the usual traffic jam around Antwerp and struggled with some lunatic truck drivers, we finally reached the Trix venue in time to see the support band Lucifer. Entering the venue, I was surprised to see that the gig wasn't in the big hall downstairs, but in the smaller club upstairs. It was Tuesday after all, maybe that’s why. The club might be small, but it’s more intimate and cosy. So no complaints.

Lucifer is the new manifestation of Berlin-based singer Johanna Sadonis (former The Oath). The band recently released its debut album on Lee Dorrian’s (former Cathedral and Napalm Death front man) Rise Above Records. Guitar player Garry Jennings, former Cathedral as well, is another notable band member. The other members are drummer Andy Prestidge (former Angel Witch and The Oath) and Ladytron touring bassist Dino Gollnick. Lucifer plays retro sounding metal, reminiscent of Black Sabbath., the sound of the 70s and 80s, you know, even the cover of their album looks very retro. Lucifer sounds like a bluesy kind of doom metal. Johanna has a great voice. Not that semi-operatic voice or the typical beauty and the beast gothic metal or other female fronted metal, but a powerful voice, both soaring and swooping. At the end of the set she still sounded equally powerful. The crowd could appreciate Lucifer’s effort. Quite enjoyable, but I wasn’t really overwhelmed by the set. Maybe a second guitarist could be useful. But for sure a band I will follow in the future, especially for Johanna.

Paradise Lost started its show with No Hope In Sight, the opening track of the new album. Many people already knew the words and screamed along. During Widow they had some problems with the sound. The vocals were too much on the background, but during Gothic they found the correct balance. The crowd cheered when this classic was announced. Many fists were raised during the massive riffs. Paradise Lost played tight and sounded chunky. The grateful crowd was enthusiastic. Even during Erased, a track with some electronic arrangements that dates from their experimental period. Many hands were raised to clap along the rhythm during the bridge. The involvement remained throughout the gig. Especially during As I Die the crowd went crazy and screamed out loud.

Paradise Lost played a balanced setlist. They focused on The Plague Within, but played some classic and some less obvious tracks as well. Although Nick Holmes isn’t the most mobile performer, he easily packed the crowd with his jokes and raised their hands whenever he wanted it. The vocalist did well, both clean vocals and harsh vocals sounded great. The band played flawless. The crowd was involved. All ingredients for a nice evening were there.

Setlist Paradise Lost:
No Hope In Sight (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Widow (from Icon, 1993)
Gothic (from Gothic, 1991)
Erased (from Symbol Of Life, 2002)
Praise Lamented Shade (from In Requiem, 2007)
Victim Of The Past (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Enchantment (from Draconian Times, 1995)
Cry Out (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Beneath Broken Earth (from The Plague Within, 2015)
As I Die (from Shades Of God, 1992)
Requiem (from In Requiem, 2007)

Encores:
Return To The Sun (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Faith Divides Us – Death Unites Us (from Faith Divides Us – Death Unites Us, 2009)
An Eternity Of Lies (from The Plague Within, 2015)
Say Just Words (from One Second, 1997)

Benny CALUWE
11/10/2015


Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.