tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

27/01/2014 : PAS DE DEUX - Brussels, AB (26/01/2014)

PAS DE DEUX

Brussels, AB (26/01/2014)

Concert
Electro PopMinimal

[90/100]   
27/01/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Pas de Deux was the headliner at this edition of The sound of the Belgian underground-festival. For the younger or non-Flemish readers, Pas De Deux is known for the fact that they were chosen to go to the Eurovision song contest in 1983. A very strange decision at that time, because this a minimalistic wave band. This all resulted in chaotic and angry scenes live on a Belgian TV-show.

After 30 years they made this unique reunion. The original members, Hilde Van Roy, Dett Peyskens, and the leading power behind this project, Walter Verdin, were still ready to perform this unique gig.

Tonight the band was completed with some very nice 'guest members': Karen Willems (Zita Swoon), Kevin Strauwen (True Zebra), Ciska Thomas (Bright Entity) and Peter Schneider (Leki)

I was a bit afraid that all songs would be on tape, and that it all would sound a bit dated, but luckily enough I was completely wrong as all songs sounded suprisingly fresh.

The opening was a new track 'Minimalize', with some nice visuals and lyrics from the video artist himsef, Walter Verdin. Then starting to play almost the whole vinyl album from 1983, minimal wave.

Very early in the setlist, one of my favorite Pas De Deux tracks, 'Lonely Guys'. Hilde and Dett sounded just the same as 30 years ago and really enjoyed themselves. Sometimes they acted like two schoolgirls. And I have to say, not only on this song, but an overall very strong performance from all guest musicians, drums, synths, guitar, percussions, all very well and enthusiastically played

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cffjrCyu7K0&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&feature=share&index=1

As they were headlining this underground festival, and most bands and audience were very young, it was a little strange with this mixed up audience. The 'young ones' looked a bit surprised, because most of them, didn't know the band, and were not even born when Pas De Deux formed. And for the 'not so young ones', like me, this was realy great to hear this back, I could even feel some nostalgia.

In the middle of the set came the song that everybody was waiting for: 'Rendez Vous'. The band had a very nice surprise for us by playing the original video from the Eurovision song contest from 1983 at the background. It was really something special, and the audience really went mad. Here's the video I made

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X2UVS0-YL0E&feature=share&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg

Not only is this song one of the most controversial tracks ever in Belgium, it was also the first track ever played on our national Belgian pop radiostation Studio Brussel.

Other underground club classics were 'Cardiocleptomanie', and 'Mani Meme' (Flemish phonetic for 'Not with me') ended this great concert. I was very glad to be part of this reunion gig, for most this was pure nostalgia, and for some a nice discovery of this fantastic minimal 80's project.

Some more vids can be found on my youtube channel, numanoid65

Setlist : Minimalize / A Million Miles / Little Danny / Lonely Guys / Lits Jumeaux / Take A Cigarette / Rendeze Vous / Cardiocleptomanie / Iedereen Is Zot / Mani Meme.

Peter HESELMANS
27/01/2014


 

Next reviews
ATTRITION • Demonstro - 1982 - 85
RON HOWARD • Rush
MOLLY NILSSON • The Travels
EMOTIKON • Remixes
FIREMEN OF DEATH, XMH, IMPLANT, K-BEREIT & SYNTHETICA • Terra Gotha XXI, Vlissingen, The Netherlands, 25/01/2014
METSATÖLL • Tõrrede Kõhtudes (In the Bellies of Barrels) - Single
RONNY YU • Saving General Yang
STEREO SIN • Monochrom
SALLY DIGE • Forget me / Losing you
THE TWINS • You've Got a Twin in the Attic (You Lunatic)

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + MINIMAL
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
ALLES • Post
SCHLEIMER K • Schleimer K
SIXTH JUNE • Pleasure EP
POSITION PARALLELE • Néons Blancs
JUNKSISTA • Naked wet hot EP
OPPENHEIMER MKII • The Presence Of The Abnormal
DEPECHE MODE • Delta Machine

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
08
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic