tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/08/2015 : PEGA MONSTRO - Alfarroba

PEGA MONSTRO

Alfarroba

MusicCD
PunkRock

[70/100]   

Upset The Rhythm
06/08/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The Portuguese girl band Pega Mostro is a project of the sisters Julia Reis (drums) and Maria Reis (guitar, keyboard). The name of the band means 'Catch the Monster', and that is a perfect illustration of the dream-punk sound of both ladies. They have been members of other bands since 2010, and they have their own record label (Cafetra Records), which wants to chart the Portuguese garage punk scene. Their first album was released in 2012 and could count on a lot of interest in their homeland, and now Alfarroba is out, their entrance ticket to the international market. In the summer of 2015 they tour through Western Europe and with a little luck you can see them at work.

Braço de Ferro kicks off with a wall of guitars and strong vocals: power-punk in the best tradition between Blondie and Heart, steamy and loud, while Branca goes crescendo in the same style, corrosive and flowing. In Não Consegues the voices are doubled and mixed lake front, the speed is reduced and the guitar sounds more varied and less emphatic. Again, a fairly short composition.
És Tudo O Que Eu Queria is a sweet dream-punk ballad with good singing and keyboards that sound like an accordion, while Fiz Esta Canção is punk music with sharp guitars and repetitive minimal vocals.

Estrada is quieter, and what remains is a good sounding pop-rock ballad in which the atmosphere is determined by the strong vocals. But appearances are deceptive, because halfway the frantic guitars take the lead and we even hear electro snatches and noise. In És Tu, Já Sei we are treated to a portion of harmless dream-pop, while Amêndoa Amarga sounds like Heart meets Melissa Etheridge. Fado D'Agua Fria floats on what sounds like a friendly children's tune, with acoustic guitar as accompaniment, innocent and simple. Finally, Voltas Para Trás is punk-rock as we like to hear it, angular and hectic, with beautiful roaring guitars and sublime vocals.

Fans of punk-rock, dream-punk and dream-pop are pampered with this album. The songs are well constructed and the album sounds firm and loud. Julia and Maria Reis are doing well and finally it is no shame to be compared to Heart, Blondie or Melissa Ehteridge. There are worse things in life.

Tracklisting:
1. Braço de Ferro
2. Branca
3. Não Consegues
4. És Tudo O Que Eu Queria
5. Fiz Esta Canção
6. Estrada
7. És Tu, Já Sei
8. Amêndoa Amarga
9. Fado D'Água Fria
0. Voltas Para Trás

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nw1tSJqb6Xo

William LIÉNARD
06/08/2015


NL

De Portugese meidenband Pega Mostro is een project van de zusjes Júlia Reis (drums) and Maria Reis (gitaar, keyboard). Hun bandnaam betekent ‘Vang het Monster’ en is de perfecte illustratie van het dreampunkgeluid van beide dames. Ze zijn trouwens al sinds 2010 actief in andere bands en ze hebben ook een eigen platenlabel (Cafetra Records) dat de Portugese garagepunkscène in kaart wil brengen. Hun eerste album verscheen in 2012 en kon op heel veel belangstelling rekenen in hun vaderland, en nu is Alfarroba uit, waarmee ze de internationale markt proberen te bestormen. In de zomer van 2015 toeren ze door West-Europa en met een beetje geluk kan u ze aan het werk zien.

Braço de Ferro bijt de spits af met een muur van gitaren en stevige vocalen: power-punk in de beste traditie tussen Blondie en Heart, en Branca gaat in dezelfde stijl crescendo, bijtend en vloeiend. In Não Consegues worden de stemmen verdubbeld en meer vooraan gemixt, het tempo is verlaagd en het gitaarspel klinkt gevarieerder en minder nadrukkelijk. Opnieuw een vrij korte compositie. És Tudo O Que Eu Queria is een lieflijke dreampunkballade met een zoete samenzang vooraan en keyboards die klinken als een accordeon, terwijl Fiz Esta Canção opnieuw de punktoer opgaat met scherpe repetitieve gitaren en minimale vocalen.

In Estrada wordt gas teruggenomen en wat overblijft is een goed klinkende pop-rockballade waarin de sfeer wordt bepaald door de stevige harmoniën. Maar schijn bedriegt, want halfweg nemen de hectische gitaren het voortouw en horen we zelfs flarden elektro en noise. Éin s Tu, Já Sei worden we getrakteerd op een portie ongevaarlijke dreampop, terwijl Amêndoa Amarga klinkt als Heart meets Melissa Etheridge. Fado D'Água Fria dobbert op wat een lieflijk kindermelodietje lijkt, met akoestische gitaar als begeleiding, onschuldig en eenvoudig. Voltas Para Trás ten slotte is punkrock zoals we die graag horen, hoekig en jachtig, met prachtig ronkende gitaren en sublieme zangstemmen.

Liefhebbers van punkrock, dreampunk en dreampop komen helemaal aan hun trekken met dit album. De composities zitten goed in elkaar en het geheel klinkt stevig en luid. Júlia en Maria Reis zijn goed bezig en uiteindelijk is het geen schande om te worden vergeleken met Heart, Blondie of Melissa Etheridge. Er zijn ergere dingen in het leven.

William LIÉNARD
06/08/2015


06/08/2015 : PEGA MONSTRO - Alfarroba 06/08/2015 : PEGA MONSTRO - Alfarroba

 

Next reviews
ABDELLATIF KECHICHE • La Vie D'Adèle (Blue Is The warmest Color)
MIDIAN DITE • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
EIGHTY-TWELVE • Everyone is wrong
XANDRIA • Fire And Ashes EP
JOHN PADDY CARSTAIRS • Dancing With Crime
JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI • Beyond The Reach
IN CAMERA • Era
KEVIN STRAUWEN (TRUE ZEBRA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE MUSEUM OF LOVE • The Remixes
GEOMETRIC VISION • Virtual Analog Tears

 

Same combination of genres: PUNK + ROCK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THERAPY? • Tides
SIEVEHEAD • Into the Blue
MR SHIRAZ • 21 Grams (EP)
THE BONES • Flash The Leather
THE KENDOLLS • Automania
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
LUCERO • All a Man Should Do
DEAD CLONES • Dead Clones
DRINKS • Hermits on Holiday

 

Same genre: PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
SEKEL
Crayons
22
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
21
06
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
20
06
THE POGUES FEATURING KIRSTY MACCOLL
Fairytale Of New York
19
06
0KONTROL
Traitors
18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control