tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

14/08/2019 : PETER GUNDRY - V Ö L U R

PETER GUNDRY

V Ö L U R

MusicCD / Digital
AmbientFolkNeofolkOrchestral

[85/100]   

Self-released
14/08/2019, Ash MCAULIFFE

One can truly believe that the Old Gods of Europe will rise again when you take the time to sit back and enjoy the brand-new record by Peter Gundry - V Ö L U R.

Gundry is a multi-instrumentalist from Brisbane, Australia and has a huge following on YouTube and Facebook with his special compositions that truly evoke the feel of cultures lost to time.

The new record brings into full manifestation Gundry’s desire to make an album based on Nordic folk music. Listening to the album from start to finish feels like a Shamanic journey. It possesses the profound ability to transport the listener into a deep experiential realm of Norse life, mythology and religion.

Musically, there is an almost ice-cold crispness to the record. The use of natural sounds such as wind and rain aid the album in giving it a nigh-on feeling of a cold sea breeze upon your skin. But the album is also awash and swathed with beautiful string arrangements, traditional folk instruments and vocal accompaniments that are able to accentuate a particular emotion the songwriter wants to pull out of the listener, and these give the album its blood warmth. There are some wonderful deeper vocal harmonies on the record which gave me tingles down my spine. The guitar work is exceptional and often brings to mind the work of '70s folk music legends such as Nick Drake and even more so I feel a kinship with Spanish Neofolk band Trobar de Morte and the UK's Wolcensmen in Gundry’s creation of redolent atmospheres.

The album confirms to me that there is plenty of life left in the Neofolk genre and is a welcome change in direction for Gundry given the albums cohesive feel and flow. It’s definitely saying something when the album finishes and I am left clamouring for it to continue.

Ash MCAULIFFE
14/08/2019


 

Next reviews
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
AUGER • From Now On I
XTORT • Nothing is real
LORD OF THE LOST • 'Till death do us part
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
1LUM3 • Antinomia
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA • Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE • Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man

 

Same genre: ORCHESTRAL
IRRADIANCE • Dissidence
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN • Missa Solemnis (Rotterdams Filharmonisch Orkest & Collegium Vocale, Antwerpen, deSingel, 13/02/2016)

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)