tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

14/08/2019 : PETER GUNDRY - V Ö L U R

PETER GUNDRY

V Ö L U R

MusicCD / Digital
AmbientFolkNeofolkOrchestral

[85/100]   

Self-released
14/08/2019, Ash MCAULIFFE

One can truly believe that the Old Gods of Europe will rise again when you take the time to sit back and enjoy the brand-new record by Peter Gundry - V Ö L U R.

Gundry is a multi-instrumentalist from Brisbane, Australia and has a huge following on YouTube and Facebook with his special compositions that truly evoke the feel of cultures lost to time.

The new record brings into full manifestation Gundry’s desire to make an album based on Nordic folk music. Listening to the album from start to finish feels like a Shamanic journey. It possesses the profound ability to transport the listener into a deep experiential realm of Norse life, mythology and religion.

Musically, there is an almost ice-cold crispness to the record. The use of natural sounds such as wind and rain aid the album in giving it a nigh-on feeling of a cold sea breeze upon your skin. But the album is also awash and swathed with beautiful string arrangements, traditional folk instruments and vocal accompaniments that are able to accentuate a particular emotion the songwriter wants to pull out of the listener, and these give the album its blood warmth. There are some wonderful deeper vocal harmonies on the record which gave me tingles down my spine. The guitar work is exceptional and often brings to mind the work of '70s folk music legends such as Nick Drake and even more so I feel a kinship with Spanish Neofolk band Trobar de Morte and the UK's Wolcensmen in Gundry’s creation of redolent atmospheres.

The album confirms to me that there is plenty of life left in the Neofolk genre and is a welcome change in direction for Gundry given the albums cohesive feel and flow. It’s definitely saying something when the album finishes and I am left clamouring for it to continue.

Ash MCAULIFFE
14/08/2019


 

Next reviews
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
AUGER • From Now On I
XTORT • Nothing is real
LORD OF THE LOST • 'Till death do us part
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
1LUM3 • Antinomia
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA • Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE • Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man

 

Same genre: ORCHESTRAL
IRRADIANCE • Dissidence
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN • Missa Solemnis (Rotterdams Filharmonisch Orkest & Collegium Vocale, Antwerpen, deSingel, 13/02/2016)

Music reviews

06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight