tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio

PETER STRICKLAND

Berberian Sound Studio

Movie
ArthouseHorror

[73/100]   

Remain In Light
17/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Do you also think that the horror genre can use some refreshing ideas? Well, if you do we kindly present you Berberian Sound Studio: the second movie by British filmmaker (and composer) Peter Strickland. Don’t expect any blood or some limbs flying in the air as the danger is in the noise! From his early childhood on, this cineast was intrigued by noise and especially what you can do with it. For his highly acclaimed arthouse-horrorfilm (such things exist!) he got the collaboration from both Broadcast and Nurse With Wound.


Berberian Sound Studio (a title that refers to the avantgarde artist Cathy Berberian) tells the story from a foley artist. What? Well, in times that computers and digital sound weren’t invented you had artists around who could create the most bizarre noises with very common things. These magicians could create the sound from an UFO with a simple spoon or imitate with a destroyed pumpkin the sound of a knife that beheads a woman. Such artists were indeed elementary for the production of both radio plays and motion pictures.


The quite shy Gilderoy (Toby Jones) is such an artist. He has reached an age, but still his mother daily cares for him. One day he’s been invited to Italy to make the sound of a giallo (that’s an Italian horror movie that is full of sex and violence). Gilderoy doesn’t understand the macho world from the flamboyant (and fictive) director Giancarlo Santini he walks in.


Berberian Sound Studio has been praised on several festivals, even if it’s not clear in which category this one fits. In a way you could say it’s, just like L'Étrange Couleur Des Larmes De Ton Corps from the Belgian duo Hélène Cattet and Bruno Forzani, a homage to the giallo-genre. Otherwise you can also state that it’s a movie that exposures sound in all its aspects. Due to the many CG-effects we tend to forget it, but sound is important in movies.


Peter Strickland never hid the fact that Eraserhead by David Lynch was his inspiration. You can see that, even if the director does his own thing. To top this, Strickland could get Toby Jones (indeed the little man who performed Hitchcock in The Girl) who adds an extra dark touch.


Berberian Sound Studio is out on DVD through Remain In Light. A bizarre, but intriguing film trip.

Didier BECU
17/06/2014


NL

Vind je ook dat het horrorgenre best wel een opkikker kan gebruiken? Dan stellen we je met veel plezier aan Berberian Sound Studio voor: de tweede langspeler van de Brit Peter Strickland. Verwacht evenwel geen bloed of rondvliegende ledematen, want de dreiging zit hem in het geluid. Deze cineast was al van kindsbeen af gefascineerd door wat je zoal met geluid kan doen en voor deze bejubelde arthousehorrorfilm (dat bestaat dus!) kon hij zowel Broadcast als het industrieel collectief Nurse With Wound strikken.


Berberian Sound Studio (een titel die naar de avantgardezangeres Cathy Berberian verwijst) vertelt het verhaal over een foley artist. Wat? Wel, lang geleden voordat er sprake was van een computer of digitaal geluid had je geluidskunstenaars die met eenvoudige middelen allerlei effecten konden imiteren. Zo konden ze men met een lepel een ufo nabootsen of had een kapotgeslagen meloen plotseling het effect van een bloederige onthoofding. Deze artiesten waren onmisbaar wanneer men een radiospel of een film wilde maken.


De wat wereldvreemde Gilderoy (Toby Jones) is zo’n geluidstovenaar. Ondanks zijn rijpe leeftijd zorgt zijn moeder nog dagelijks voor hem. Wegens zijn kunstjes wordt hij in Italië uitgenodigd om het geluid van een giallo (dat is een Italiaanse horrorfilm met zeer veel seks en geweld) te maken. De teruggetrokken Gilderoy begrijpt echter geen snars van de machowereld die eigen is aan de flamboyante (fictieve) regisseur Giancarlo Santini waarvoor hij werkt.


Berberian Sound Studio werd terecht op diverse filmfestivals met lovende woorden overladen, alhoewel het toch gissen blijft in welke categorie deze film dient onderverdeeld te worden. Ergens kun je stellen dat het een ode is aan de giallo, net zoals L'Étrange Couleur Des Larmes De Ton Corps van het Belgische duo Hélène Cattet en Bruno Forzani dat is. Anderzijds kun je ook zeggen dat Berberian Sound Studio gewoon een film is die het geluid in al zijn aspecten tentoonspreidt. Door de vele CG-effecten durven we het vandaag wel eens vergeten, maar geluid is wel degelijk belangrijk in een film.

 

Peter Strickland steekt het ook niet onder stoelen of banken dat Eraserhead van David Lynch het grote voorbeeld is. Dat zie je ook, maar de filmmaker doet er wel zijn eigen ding mee. Bovendien kon de cineast beroep doen op één van de meest bizarre karakterkoppen van de Britse cinema: Toby Jones (inderdaad, dat kleine mannetje die in The Girl Alfred Hitchcock vertolkte) die de film een extra donker tintje geeft.


Berberian Sound Studio is nu uit op dvd via Remain In Light. Een bizarre, niet alledaagse maar intrigerende film.

Didier BECU
17/06/2014


17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio 17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio 17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio 17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio 17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio 17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio 17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio 17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio 17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio 17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio 17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio 17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio 17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio 17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio 17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio 17/06/2014 : PETER STRICKLAND - Berberian Sound Studio

Music reviews

23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!
16
07
Today, Blutengel released their brand-new Album 'Erlösung - The Victory of Light'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My
21
07
NITZER EBB
Control I’m Here
20
07
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad