tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/10/2012 : PHILIPP MUNCH - Mondo Obscura

PHILIPP MUNCH

Mondo Obscura

MusicCD
Analogue SynthElectroIndustrial

[75/100]   

Ant-Zen
22/10/2012, Chris KONINGS

The second album by Philipp Münch, someone who's work with bands like The Rorschach Garden or Synapscape might obscure a reviewer objective viewpoint. But the work he does under his own name has more variety then the previous bands, he can really follow his own feeling. At first it might not sound very convincing or compelling, but once you get past the necessary acclimatization, this album turns out to be a very complete and well crafted work.

The intro is a slow instrumental, steadily building up with pulsating loops and watery bleeps. During the album, Phil works a lot with guest vocals, I love the warm, soft timbre of Kyoung-Hi Roho, it reminds me of Genevieve Pasquier. Tim Kniep (his Synapscape compadre) is also lending his raw vocal chords, "Raise The Pressure" has a lofi, 80's Cabs sound and Phil continues to go back in time, the next three are great industrial soundscapes with good female and male vocals and warped guitars. SPK's Leichenschrei isn't far away! "By Accident" is more ambient, "Shifting People" and "Way Of Anger" have metallic beats driving you forward, the latter ends in brutally shouted slogans...

Kyoung's voice is a great contrast with the hacking beats and eerie noises in "Choices Undone", a great song blending old school electronics with state of the art sampling. Another shift in genre with "Sub.Divider", somewhat unconvincing electropunk with vocals by Dan Gatto and after that another mediocre song, "The Magma Of War" is a bit quirky mix between throbbing industrial and the cold, seductive vocals of Riotmiloo. The last song "Torch" is another song that floats somewhere around 1982 industrial and synthpop. Allright, but not as good as the original stuff.

A bit more beat driven then his previous solo effort, Mondo Obscura gives you a few great songs and some that aren't that great. Still, Philipp Munch proves he has a lot up his sleeves, even after creating such a huge amount of music with his other projects... An album that grows on you and "Choices Undone" should be reason enough to add this album in your collection!

Ant-Zen

Chris KONINGS
22/10/2012


 

Next reviews
DEAD CAN DANCE • The Renaissance of Dead Can Dance - Review of the concert at Cirque Royal on 29 September
ULTRAVOX • Review of the concert at TRIX in Antwerp on 11th October 2012
MORLOCKS • The Outlaw Of Fives
A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS • Review of the concert at Botanique in Brussels on 8th October 2012
CABARET GREY • Stirring
ORCUS NULLIFY • EP
STRANGE2 & NEV.ERA • Diario Sonoro
BEN LUKAS BOYSEN • Restive
OBVERSE REALITY • The Future Ended... Today
HERZPARASIT • Fromme Lämmer

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.