tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

PIETER NOOTEN

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
01/09/2015, Didier BECU

As I knew Pieter Nooten, his choice isn’t that surprising. It might be, if you only know his early work with Clan Of Xymox as Pieter can easily be seen as one of the godfathers of synth-darkwave. But Pieter is still around creating music. I must confess that I always describe his solo work as “Brian Eno”, but that’s probably because I can’t find no other words for his ambient works. Anyway, Pieter, time to come up with your favourite albums!

For me, the most influential, inspiring music/albums. Not in any particular order.

1. Johann Sebastian Bach - Mattheus Passion
The ultimate restrained yet complex, humanistic yet devine, profound yet earthly musical drama ever written. Period.

2. Claudio Monteverdi - Maria Vespers & Magnificat (Gardiner version)
Rich in texture, emotive, esotherical, rythmic and a little bit controversial, as the best baroque music should be.

3. Maurice Durufle - Requiem
Very similar in mood to Faure’s Requiem yet just that tiny bit more soothing rather than sad, with gorgeously compelling crescendo’s and emotional melodies.

4. Phillip Glass - (Score to) Koyaanisqatsi
It blew me away back than and showed me how it is possible to achieve the most extreme musical drama utilizing the most minimal musical techniques.

5. Ennio Morricone - Once Upon A Time In The West
Morricone is the ultimate contemporary master of melody, harmony and musical pathos. A maestro, the archetypical genius who understands the human psyche and how to move it profoundly.

6. Erik Satie - Gymnopedies
Sort of the beginning of modern day ambient and minimal music with maximum emotional impact. I cannot listen to it anymore, that’s how often I used to play it.

7. Marc-Antoine Charpentier - Leçons de Ténèbres
Totally mesmerizing and hypnotic lamentations. When performed candles in the church would be extinguished after every phrase, until it was totally obscure and dark. Ambient avant la lettre!

8. Karol Szymanowski - Stabat Mater
Gorgeous, stirring melodies, crescendo’s and post-impressionist harmonies.

9. Henryk Nicolai Górecki - Symphony Of Sorrowfull Songs
No comment. Needs to be heard. Will change your life forever.

10. Johann Sebastian Bach - Hohe Messe
Again, Bach touches on every single emotion a human can possibly demonstrate. Stirring stuff.

Didier BECU
01/09/2015


01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo