tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

03/07/2020 : PORTION CONTROL - Head Buried

PORTION CONTROL

Head Buried

MusicCD / Digital
EBMElectroIndustrial

[90/100]   
03/07/2020, Fred GADGET

EN

After eight long years of waiting, the new Portion Control is finally out! Indeed, their previous album, Pure Form, dates back to 2012! Portion Control themselves haven't named this new album as such but describes Head Buried more like a collection of gathered tracks that were composed by this British duo during the post Pure Form era. Anyway, after listening only once we dare to say this is indeed a worthy full-fledged album in their known qualitative traditions. John Whybrew's lingering yet pounding rhythms, doused in a mix of electronic and industrial sounds, enforced by Dean Piavianni's unmistakably aggressive vocal lines. The fact Portion Control does not attempt to compose feel-good pop music but rather fill their song with doom and critical references in society is again clearly presented on this release. The album immediately opens strong with title track 'Head Buried'… “I tried to tell them, tried to get the message across,… I tried to warn them… Head buried… Deep in the sand… What's the use in Trying” Head on we say! Now, the mood has been set and it will stay with us for twelve songs long, or “47:00 of pure electronics” as is written largely on the front cover. Gems such as the melancholy rippling ‘Claw and Scrape’, the up-tempo instrumental stomping ‘Regime’ fly by. And what to think of the amazing, almost apocalyptic predictive ,’Degrade’ … "One day there will be nothing left" Dean chants that convincingly one expects to see a mushroom cloud appearing in the sky any time now. It’s followed by ‘Regulation One’, an EBM stomper you cant’ resist. This LP also contains some short and less short instrumental “drops”, but they do not at all affect the overall quality of this release, on the contrary… Further tracks like 'Rise Up' and 'Ninth Child' should need no further description, Portion Control in its… erm.. pure form :-). The last track, ‘Cock’ is again an instrumental stunner, that squeaks, creaks and pounds hard... At maximum volume, a blissful track to shake your head empty again!

Fred GADGET
03/07/2020


NL

Na acht lange jaren wachten is eindelijk de nieuwe Portion Control uit! Hun vorige album, Pure Form, dateert al van 2012!

Portion Control zelf noemt deze release, Head Buried, niet een echt nieuw album, maar eerder een verzameling bijeengesprokkelde tracks die in het post Pure Form tijdperk door dit Britse duo gecomponeerd werden. Maar goed, al na de eerste beluistering durven wij gerust te stellen dat dit wel degelijk een volwaardig album is in de de gekende kwalitatieve tradities.

John Whybrew’s slepende maar beukende rhythms, overgoten met een allegaartje van elektronische en industriëlee klanken, en kracht bijgezet door de onmiskenbare agressieve zanglijnen van Dean Piavianni. Dat Portion Control geen good-feel popmuziek probeert te maken maar liever hun songs vol maatschappijkritische verwijzingen steken, is ook op deze release weer duidelijk.

Het album opent meteen frontaal met titeltrack ‘Head Buried’ … “I tried to tell them, tried to get the message across, … I tried to warn them …Head buried … Deep in the sand … What’s the use in Trying” Boenk erop! De toon is gezet en wordt gestaag volgehouden gedurende 12 nummers, of 47 minuten pure electronics zoals in het groot op de frontcover staat. Pareltjes zoals het melancholische kabbelende ’Claw and Scrape’, het up-tempo instrumentale en stompende ‘Regime’ vliegen voorbij. En wat te denken van het geweldige, bijna apocalyptisch voorspellende ’Degrade’.. “One day there will be nothing left” scandeert Dean hier zo overtuigend dat je verwacht elk moment een paddenstoelvormige wolk aan de hemel te zien verschijnen. ‘Regulation One’ is dan weer een EBM stomper van formaat.

Op deze langspeler staan ook enkele korte en minder korte instrumentale “drops” die geen afbreuk doen aan de globale kwaliteit van deze release, integendeel … Verdere tracks zoals ’Rise Up’ en ‘Ninth Child’ behoeven geen verdere omschrijving, Portion Control in … euh.. pure form :-). Als laatste track, ‘Cock, een instrumentale knaller, het piept, knarst en beukt lang alle kanten … Op maximum volume, eentje om zalig het hoofd weer mee leeg te schudden!

Fred GADGET
03/07/2020


 

Next reviews
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
AUGER • Insurgence
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP

 

Other reviews from PORTION CONTROL
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
PORTION CONTROL • Unrest in the Grime
PORTION CONTROL • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
THE GOTHSICLES • Icarius

 

Same genre: EBM
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
AD:KEY • Resonanz
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret