tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

21/04/2021 : POTOCHKINE - Sortilèges

POTOCHKINE

Sortilèges

MusicCD / Digital
DarkwaveElectro

[85/100]   

Self-released
21/04/2021, Peter DOLPHEN

Danceable weird French shit... That's the first thing that comes to mind when I hear Potochkine, a project which is rather an artproject than just music.

After a first release in 2018 (Potochkine, on Data Airlines Records), this duo (she, the enchanting voice and he, the hardware beast) wandered the globe, with gigs in Peru, Canada and Europe to prepare the release of their first single Pogo, a call of 150 BPM to start a revolution. A prelude in style for an album that is meant to be a statement: we should act and stand up, not react and follow.

The dark but trancy beats take you on a comfortable trip while the bewitching voice adds just a frightening, edgy 'je-ne-sais-quoi' that actually makes you feel the opposite: rather uncomfortable... It's almost like a biblical sermon that descends into your brain. It goes deeper and further than the average darkwave or EBM-band. Also the vocals in French beef up this feeling. It's not the cold and sharp German lyrics or the omnipresent English, but a romantic and attractive French voice that attires you to listen.

I like this contradiction and enjoy the experience. Now it's your turn to let this danceable weird French shit soak into your head... Don't be afraid: you might like it!

Last small detail: also available on cassette!

Peter DOLPHEN
21/04/2021


21/04/2021 : POTOCHKINE - Sortilèges 21/04/2021 : POTOCHKINE - Sortilèges 21/04/2021 : POTOCHKINE - Sortilèges

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
08
AMMO
Rose + Crown
05
08
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us