tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

21/04/2021 : POTOCHKINE - Sortilèges

POTOCHKINE

Sortilèges

MusicCD / Digital
DarkwaveElectro

[85/100]   

Self-released
21/04/2021, Peter DOLPHEN

Danceable weird French shit... That's the first thing that comes to mind when I hear Potochkine, a project which is rather an artproject than just music.

After a first release in 2018 (Potochkine, on Data Airlines Records), this duo (she, the enchanting voice and he, the hardware beast) wandered the globe, with gigs in Peru, Canada and Europe to prepare the release of their first single Pogo, a call of 150 BPM to start a revolution. A prelude in style for an album that is meant to be a statement: we should act and stand up, not react and follow.

The dark but trancy beats take you on a comfortable trip while the bewitching voice adds just a frightening, edgy 'je-ne-sais-quoi' that actually makes you feel the opposite: rather uncomfortable... It's almost like a biblical sermon that descends into your brain. It goes deeper and further than the average darkwave or EBM-band. Also the vocals in French beef up this feeling. It's not the cold and sharp German lyrics or the omnipresent English, but a romantic and attractive French voice that attires you to listen.

I like this contradiction and enjoy the experience. Now it's your turn to let this danceable weird French shit soak into your head... Don't be afraid: you might like it!

Last small detail: also available on cassette!

Peter DOLPHEN
21/04/2021


21/04/2021 : POTOCHKINE - Sortilèges 21/04/2021 : POTOCHKINE - Sortilèges 21/04/2021 : POTOCHKINE - Sortilèges

Music reviews

06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight