tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

23/08/2019 : PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 - Harbringer

PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1

Harbringer

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[83/100]   

Digital World Audio
23/08/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

These gentlemen of Preemptive Strike 0.1 are coming from the Greek island Crete. Founded in 2002 with the mission to deliver powerful, melodic EBM while not shying away from giving Eastern elements and traditional Greek instruments a place in their compositions. They even have sometimes recording-sessions with musicians from the metal scene and meanwhile released seven full-length albums, three EPs and one 7".

This is their latest work, the EP Harbringer, released by Digital World Audio. It is immediately clear: the danceable factor is fully present. The first song 'Harbringer' is dark electro with strong beats, distorted vocals - which immediately adds the necessary aggression - and is reminiscent of the music of acts such as Hocico.

'Somatic Mutations Respawn' shifts some gears down, but remains edgy enough to stick on you. 'Teratogenesis' has a rather old-school EBM content. The repetitive stomping goes through the melody and is peppered with other electronics, but remains rather straight forward. The aggression and tension in the vocals remain of an unprecedented high level.

'The Era Of Entomocracy' is already the last song on this EP and has again a solid electro base, without being extremely of the foreground. A danceable track from start to finish.

Conclusion: Its about time these guys make the crossing from Crete to our regions. It's a genre that works very well in Germany but still deserves more attention in our little Belgium. So I wish...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/08/2019


NL

Ze komen van het Griekse eiland Kreta, de heerschappen van Preemptive Strike 0.1 In 2002 opgericht met als missie het afleveren van krachtige, melodieuze EBM. En daarbij schuwen ze niet om oosterse elementen en traditionele Griekse instrumenten een plaats te geven in hun muziek. En ze gaan al eens opnemen met muzikanten die uit de metalscène komen. Ze brachten al 7 volwaardige albums, drie EP’s en een 7” uit. Hun nieuwste release is hun EP Harbringer, die verschijnt op Digital World Audio.

Het is meteen duidelijk: het dansbare is volmondig aanwezig. Harbringer is dark electro met stevige beats, stem met distortie -dewelke het geheel meteen de nodige agressie meegeeft- en het neigt naar de muziek van grootheden zoals Hocico.
Somatic Mutations Respawn schakelt een aantal versnellingen lager qua tempo, maar blijft scherp genoeg om te beklijven. Teratogenesis heeft een eerder oldschool EBM gehalte. Het repetitief stompende in de melodie wordt doorspekt met andere electro, maar blijft toch vrij hoekig. De agressie in de zang blijft van een ongekend hoog niveau.
The Era Of Entomocracy is de laatste song op deze EP. Dit nummer heeft weer een stevige electro-basis, zonder extreem hard te zijn. Dansbaar van begin tot einde.

Conclusie: tijd dat ze eens de oversteek maken van Kreta naar onze contreien. In een genre dat het in het buitenland nog wel doet, maar in Belgenlandje meer plaats zou mogen krijgen. I wish….

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/08/2019


 

Next reviews
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
LES NEGRESSES VERTES • Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
AUGER • From Now On I
XTORT • Nothing is real
LORD OF THE LOST • 'Till death do us part

 

Other reviews from PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS • Crash/Overtime
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files

 

Same genre: EBM
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret