tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts

PRO-PAIN

The Truth Hurts

MusicCD
CrossoverGroove MetalHardcore

[76/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

1994 album The Truth Hurts is the second of Pro-Pain, the New York based hardcore band of vocalist/bassist Gary Meskil. It came 2 years after their debut Foul Taste Of Freedom. Just as the debut, The Truth Hurts is re-issued, re-mastered off course.

The sophomore album is the successful continuation of its predecessor. You can hear a bit more hardcore and rap influences than on Foul Taste Of Freedom. Stylish it comes a little closer to Biohazard, those other New York hardcore icons. Just as on Biohazard’s State Of The World Address from the same year a rapper delivers guest vocals. While Biohazard was reinforced by Sin Dog of Cypress Hill on How It Is, Body Count’s Ice-T collaborates on the Pro-Pain track Put The Lights Out.

The Truth Hurts is an energetic album. It’s often considered to be Pro-Pain’s finest output. Also the cover art and the booklet are a fine piece of work. The cover features a picture of a stitched-up young woman after an autopsy. In the booklet there are several pictures of crime scenes. After some controversy the original cover was changed (see pictures below). The cover art of the re-issue shows the same young women but her stitched-up y-incision is hidden behind a black square.

Highlights of the album are the Pro-Pain classic Make Ware (Not Love), Bad Blood with its great riffs, the chunky title track, the groovy One Man Army with its saxophone solo and the trashy Down In The Dumps.

Although hardcore isn’t my preferred style, The Truth Hurts is diverse enough to keep me interested.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

The Truth Hurts uit 1994 is de tweede plaat van Pro-Pain, de hardcore band uit New York rond zanger en bassist Gary Meskil. De plaat kwam er 2 jaar na hun debuut Foul Taste Of Freedom. Net als het debuut wordt The Truth Hurts heruitgebracht, geremastered natuurlijk.

The Truth Hurts is een succesvolle verderzetting van zijn voorganger. Je kunt wat meer hardcore en rapinvloeden dan op Foul Taste Of Freedom. Qua stijl benadert het Biohazard, die andere New York hardcore-iconen, Net als op State Of The World address van Biohazard levert een rapper gastvocalen. Terwijl Biohazard op How It Is versterkt wordt door Sin Dog van Cypress Hill, hoor je op de Pro-Pain song Put The Lights Out Body Count frontman Ice-T.

The Truth Hurts is een energiek album. Het wordt vaak beschouwd als Pro-Pains beste release. De originele cover liet ook indruk na. Op de hoes was namelijk een foto te zien van een jonge vrouw na een autopsie. In het boekje stonden er tevens foto’s van plaatsen delict. Na enige controverse werd de hoes ingeruild (zie foto’s onderaan). Op de heruitgave van The Truth Hurts prijkt de originele foto, maar de y-incisie gaat schuil achter een zwart vierkant.

Hoogtepunten van het album zijn de Pro-Painklassieker Make War (Not Love), Bad Blood met zijn coole riffs, de stevige titelsong, het groovy One Man Army met zijn saxofoonsolo en het trashy Down In The Dumps.

Hoewel hardcore niet mijn favoriete stijl is, is The Truth Hurts voldoende divers om me te blijven boeien.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts 11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts 11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party