tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts

PRO-PAIN

The Truth Hurts

MusicCD
CrossoverGroove MetalHardcore

[76/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

1994 album The Truth Hurts is the second of Pro-Pain, the New York based hardcore band of vocalist/bassist Gary Meskil. It came 2 years after their debut Foul Taste Of Freedom. Just as the debut, The Truth Hurts is re-issued, re-mastered off course.

The sophomore album is the successful continuation of its predecessor. You can hear a bit more hardcore and rap influences than on Foul Taste Of Freedom. Stylish it comes a little closer to Biohazard, those other New York hardcore icons. Just as on Biohazard’s State Of The World Address from the same year a rapper delivers guest vocals. While Biohazard was reinforced by Sin Dog of Cypress Hill on How It Is, Body Count’s Ice-T collaborates on the Pro-Pain track Put The Lights Out.

The Truth Hurts is an energetic album. It’s often considered to be Pro-Pain’s finest output. Also the cover art and the booklet are a fine piece of work. The cover features a picture of a stitched-up young woman after an autopsy. In the booklet there are several pictures of crime scenes. After some controversy the original cover was changed (see pictures below). The cover art of the re-issue shows the same young women but her stitched-up y-incision is hidden behind a black square.

Highlights of the album are the Pro-Pain classic Make Ware (Not Love), Bad Blood with its great riffs, the chunky title track, the groovy One Man Army with its saxophone solo and the trashy Down In The Dumps.

Although hardcore isn’t my preferred style, The Truth Hurts is diverse enough to keep me interested.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

The Truth Hurts uit 1994 is de tweede plaat van Pro-Pain, de hardcore band uit New York rond zanger en bassist Gary Meskil. De plaat kwam er 2 jaar na hun debuut Foul Taste Of Freedom. Net als het debuut wordt The Truth Hurts heruitgebracht, geremastered natuurlijk.

The Truth Hurts is een succesvolle verderzetting van zijn voorganger. Je kunt wat meer hardcore en rapinvloeden dan op Foul Taste Of Freedom. Qua stijl benadert het Biohazard, die andere New York hardcore-iconen, Net als op State Of The World address van Biohazard levert een rapper gastvocalen. Terwijl Biohazard op How It Is versterkt wordt door Sin Dog van Cypress Hill, hoor je op de Pro-Pain song Put The Lights Out Body Count frontman Ice-T.

The Truth Hurts is een energiek album. Het wordt vaak beschouwd als Pro-Pains beste release. De originele cover liet ook indruk na. Op de hoes was namelijk een foto te zien van een jonge vrouw na een autopsie. In het boekje stonden er tevens foto’s van plaatsen delict. Na enige controverse werd de hoes ingeruild (zie foto’s onderaan). Op de heruitgave van The Truth Hurts prijkt de originele foto, maar de y-incisie gaat schuil achter een zwart vierkant.

Hoogtepunten van het album zijn de Pro-Painklassieker Make War (Not Love), Bad Blood met zijn coole riffs, de stevige titelsong, het groovy One Man Army met zijn saxofoonsolo en het trashy Down In The Dumps.

Hoewel hardcore niet mijn favoriete stijl is, is The Truth Hurts voldoende divers om me te blijven boeien.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts 11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts 11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - The Truth Hurts

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here