tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/11/2019 : PSY'AVIAH - Soul Searching

PSY'AVIAH

Soul Searching

MusicCD


[83/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
19/11/2019, Sabine MOORHEM

Psy’Aviah... Since Yves Schelpe and Emélie Nicolai won Studio Brussel’s Demopoll in 2003, they have come a long way. The extremely danceable music of Psy’Aviah catches on more than just within the gothic scene, as their mix of electro-industrial, EBM and electro-rock also opens the doors to a broader public.

Singer Emélie Nicolai has left since 2013 and it took a while, but in 2017 Marieke Lightband took over the female vocal parts. All the while, Yves Schelpe has been firmly in control of the rudder, supported since 2011 by guitarist Ben Van de Cruys.

Since November 1st, 2019 the new Psy’Avia album ‘Soul Searching’ has been a fact! The standard CD version contains 12 tracks, 11 songs featuring each a different guest vocalist. Only one song ‘The Scientific Method’ has no guest vocals at all. The album contains a good alternation between danceable songs and more calm, somewhat psychedelic songs, which makes the choice of the album title more than suitable, I think.

For those who can’t get enough from Psy’Aviah there is also a deluxe edition available. This version contains a second CD, on which the fans are served another 16 remixes which are all certainly worth it.

Those who missed Psy'aviah live on November 16th this year in Antwerp will have to be patient, because their next performance will only be on February 27th, 2020, at Cabron, Antwerp.

Sabine MOORHEM
19/11/2019


Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn