tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/10/2015 : RICHARD J AARDEN - Stolid & Bruised (EP)

RICHARD J AARDEN

Stolid & Bruised (EP)

MusicCD
Singer Songwriter

[90/100]   

Prismopaco Records.
25/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Singer-songwriter Richard J Aarden has Dutch and Italian roots, but his concert calendar shows that he has working mainly in Italy until until now. His first EP dates from 2012 and now Prismopaco Records releases his Stolid & Bruised EP which contains five songs.

According to the press release, Richard J Aarden learned to play guitar and piano all by himself and he is a fan of electronic music, but in Afloat we hear a singer-songwriter at work. The guitar is prominent and supported by electric guitars and synths, interspersed with rumbling percussion: a smooth, quiet and dreamy composition which can tempt us immediately. The atmospheric guitars in the intro of Vagabond suggest a Nashville influence, but it is mainly a composition that floats on an acoustic guitar in the style of Afloat, although the soundscape is more spacious with violin-like synth in the background and an attractive melody. Little Sparrow, with careful whining guitars, bell-like synths and reverberating vocals, is absolutely wonderful. Richard J Aarden may be a self-taught musician, what he does in this song is of very high standard.

Barefoot on Shards is also an unmissable experience: fragile and brittle, but then intense and passionate, with sizzling and atmospheric guitars in the style of Rayland Baxter on his recent album. Aardens voice is silky, yet convincing, with an attractive vocal in the chorus. The last track is called All That it Takes, which sounds louder than the other compositions, though it is clearly a composition by the same hand. Synths and electric guitars serve as a backdrop, sometimes accompanied by remarkable percussion, and the voice is alternately soft and slightly more emphatic. In our opinion: five in a row.

We want to hear more of this singer-songwriter!

Tracklist:
1 Afloat
2 Vagabond
3 Little Sparrow
4 Barefoot On Shards
5 All That It Takes

"Vagabond” video
“Afloat” video

William LIÉNARD
25/10/2015


NL

Singer-songwriter Richard J Aarden heeft Nederlandse en Italiaanse roots, maar uit z’n concertkalender blijkt dat hij hoofdzakelijk in Italië werkzaam is. Z’n eerste ep stamt uit 2012 en nu is Stolid & Bruised door Prismopaco Records uitgebracht. De ep bevat 5 composities.

Volgens het persbericht leerde Richard J Aarden op z’n eentje gitaar en piano spelen en is hij een fan van elektronische muziek. In Afloat horen we vooral de singer-songwriter aan het werk. De gitaar is prominent aanwezig en wordt gesteund door elektrische gitaren en eerder onopvallende synths met tussendoor galmend slagwerk: een soepele, rustige en dromerige compositie die ons meteen kan bekoren. De atmosferische gitaren in het intro van Vagabond verraden een Nashville-invloed, maar het is in eerste instantie een op akoestische gitaar drijvende compositie die in het verlengde ligt van Afloat, zij het dat het soundscape ruimer opgezet is met vioolachtige synths op de achtergrond en een aantrekkelijke zanglijn. Little Sparrow, met voorzichtig jengelende gitaren, belachtige synths en galmende vocalen, is zonder meer wondermooi. Richard J Aarden mag dan een autodidact zijn, wat hij in deze song doet is van zeer hoog niveau.

En ook Barefoot on Shards is een niet te missen ervaring: fragiel en breekbaar, maar even later ook heftig en hartstochtelijk, met zinderende en atmosferische gitaren, die we eerder tegen het lijf liepen op het recente album van Rayland Baxter. Aardens stem klinkt zijïg en toch overtuigend, met een aantrekkelijk koortje voor het refrein. De laatste track heet All That it Takes en klinkt luider dan de ander composities, al is het duidelijk een compositie van dezelfde hand. Synths en elektrische gitaren dienen als achtergrond, soms vergezeld door opvallend slagwerk, en de stem is afwisselend zacht en ietsjes nadrukkelijker. Wat ons betreft: vijf op een rij.

Van deze singer-songwriter willen we meer horen!

William LIÉNARD
25/10/2015


25/10/2015 : RICHARD J AARDEN - Stolid & Bruised (EP) 25/10/2015 : RICHARD J AARDEN - Stolid & Bruised (EP)

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)