tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/10/2015 : RICHARD J AARDEN - Stolid & Bruised (EP)

RICHARD J AARDEN

Stolid & Bruised (EP)

MusicCD
Singer Songwriter

[90/100]   

Prismopaco Records.
25/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Singer-songwriter Richard J Aarden has Dutch and Italian roots, but his concert calendar shows that he has working mainly in Italy until until now. His first EP dates from 2012 and now Prismopaco Records releases his Stolid & Bruised EP which contains five songs.

According to the press release, Richard J Aarden learned to play guitar and piano all by himself and he is a fan of electronic music, but in Afloat we hear a singer-songwriter at work. The guitar is prominent and supported by electric guitars and synths, interspersed with rumbling percussion: a smooth, quiet and dreamy composition which can tempt us immediately. The atmospheric guitars in the intro of Vagabond suggest a Nashville influence, but it is mainly a composition that floats on an acoustic guitar in the style of Afloat, although the soundscape is more spacious with violin-like synth in the background and an attractive melody. Little Sparrow, with careful whining guitars, bell-like synths and reverberating vocals, is absolutely wonderful. Richard J Aarden may be a self-taught musician, what he does in this song is of very high standard.

Barefoot on Shards is also an unmissable experience: fragile and brittle, but then intense and passionate, with sizzling and atmospheric guitars in the style of Rayland Baxter on his recent album. Aardens voice is silky, yet convincing, with an attractive vocal in the chorus. The last track is called All That it Takes, which sounds louder than the other compositions, though it is clearly a composition by the same hand. Synths and electric guitars serve as a backdrop, sometimes accompanied by remarkable percussion, and the voice is alternately soft and slightly more emphatic. In our opinion: five in a row.

We want to hear more of this singer-songwriter!

Tracklist:
1 Afloat
2 Vagabond
3 Little Sparrow
4 Barefoot On Shards
5 All That It Takes

"Vagabond” video
“Afloat” video

William LIÉNARD
25/10/2015


NL

Singer-songwriter Richard J Aarden heeft Nederlandse en Italiaanse roots, maar uit z’n concertkalender blijkt dat hij hoofdzakelijk in Italië werkzaam is. Z’n eerste ep stamt uit 2012 en nu is Stolid & Bruised door Prismopaco Records uitgebracht. De ep bevat 5 composities.

Volgens het persbericht leerde Richard J Aarden op z’n eentje gitaar en piano spelen en is hij een fan van elektronische muziek. In Afloat horen we vooral de singer-songwriter aan het werk. De gitaar is prominent aanwezig en wordt gesteund door elektrische gitaren en eerder onopvallende synths met tussendoor galmend slagwerk: een soepele, rustige en dromerige compositie die ons meteen kan bekoren. De atmosferische gitaren in het intro van Vagabond verraden een Nashville-invloed, maar het is in eerste instantie een op akoestische gitaar drijvende compositie die in het verlengde ligt van Afloat, zij het dat het soundscape ruimer opgezet is met vioolachtige synths op de achtergrond en een aantrekkelijke zanglijn. Little Sparrow, met voorzichtig jengelende gitaren, belachtige synths en galmende vocalen, is zonder meer wondermooi. Richard J Aarden mag dan een autodidact zijn, wat hij in deze song doet is van zeer hoog niveau.

En ook Barefoot on Shards is een niet te missen ervaring: fragiel en breekbaar, maar even later ook heftig en hartstochtelijk, met zinderende en atmosferische gitaren, die we eerder tegen het lijf liepen op het recente album van Rayland Baxter. Aardens stem klinkt zijïg en toch overtuigend, met een aantrekkelijk koortje voor het refrein. De laatste track heet All That it Takes en klinkt luider dan de ander composities, al is het duidelijk een compositie van dezelfde hand. Synths en elektrische gitaren dienen als achtergrond, soms vergezeld door opvallend slagwerk, en de stem is afwisselend zacht en ietsjes nadrukkelijker. Wat ons betreft: vijf op een rij.

Van deze singer-songwriter willen we meer horen!

William LIÉNARD
25/10/2015


25/10/2015 : RICHARD J AARDEN - Stolid & Bruised (EP) 25/10/2015 : RICHARD J AARDEN - Stolid & Bruised (EP)

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret