tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience

RISE

Resilience

MusicDigital
Alternative RockPost-MetalRomantic

[85/100]   

Tunecore Services
11/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Rise is a French trio that tried everything to make itsr debut unforgettable. The artwork is very nicely, as well as the music that can be described as a mix of post-metal, black metal and alternative indie pop. They say they want to convey a romantic vision with their music. Perhaps you might think that Peek-A-Boo simply made up some terms, hoping that some will fit. But no, nowadays many bands use different styles in their music. As a base sound, you could say Rise plays a kind of progressive/post-metal sound.

Aymeric Goutal does the vocals in an alternate way. Sometimes it’s modern nu-metal, and then he sings in a dreamy, warm way. That’s very nice to listen to. A good example is About Oceans that lasts eight minutes and begins as progressive rock with a warm voice, and then develops in nu-metal with the usual growls and shouts. At the end you hear an ambient atmosphere. Maybe you can compare Rise with Ayreon because of the variety and the same feeling. But to cut a long story short: Rise made a cool debut!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2016


NL

Rise is een Frans trio dat bij het uitbrengen van z'n debuut niets aan het toeval heeft overgelaten. Het artwork is heel mooi uitgewerkt en dat geldt tevens voor de muziek, die je misschien best als een mix van post-metal, alternatieve black metal en indiepop kan omschrijven. Zelf zeggen ze dat ze met hun muziek een romantische visie willen uitdragen. Ik hoor je al denken dat Peek-A-Boo hier gewoonweg een hoop termen bij elkaar gooit in de hoop er toch maar een paar op te noemen die raak zijn. Maar neen, het is nu eenmaal zo dat tegenwoordig veel bands verschillende stijlen in hun muziek verwerken. Zo ook Rise dus, dat als basis een soort progressief/post-metal geluid heeft.

Aymeric Goutal verzorgt de vocals en doet dat afwisselend op een moderne nu-metal- en dan weer op een dromerige, warme manier. Heel fijn om naar te luisteren. About Oceans duurt acht minuten en begint dankzij de gitaren als progressieve rock met een warme stem, maar daarna horen we nu-metal met growls en shouts. De uitloper ontaardt in een stemmig stukje ambient. Misschien kun je Rise wel met Ayreon vergelijken wegens dezelfde diversiteit en feeling. Maar om het kort te houden: met Resilience heeft Rise een gaaf debuut gemaakt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2016


11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience 11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience 11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night