tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience

RISE

Resilience

MusicDigital
Alternative RockPost-MetalRomantic

[85/100]   

Tunecore Services
11/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Rise is a French trio that tried everything to make itsr debut unforgettable. The artwork is very nicely, as well as the music that can be described as a mix of post-metal, black metal and alternative indie pop. They say they want to convey a romantic vision with their music. Perhaps you might think that Peek-A-Boo simply made up some terms, hoping that some will fit. But no, nowadays many bands use different styles in their music. As a base sound, you could say Rise plays a kind of progressive/post-metal sound.

Aymeric Goutal does the vocals in an alternate way. Sometimes it’s modern nu-metal, and then he sings in a dreamy, warm way. That’s very nice to listen to. A good example is About Oceans that lasts eight minutes and begins as progressive rock with a warm voice, and then develops in nu-metal with the usual growls and shouts. At the end you hear an ambient atmosphere. Maybe you can compare Rise with Ayreon because of the variety and the same feeling. But to cut a long story short: Rise made a cool debut!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2016


NL

Rise is een Frans trio dat bij het uitbrengen van z'n debuut niets aan het toeval heeft overgelaten. Het artwork is heel mooi uitgewerkt en dat geldt tevens voor de muziek, die je misschien best als een mix van post-metal, alternatieve black metal en indiepop kan omschrijven. Zelf zeggen ze dat ze met hun muziek een romantische visie willen uitdragen. Ik hoor je al denken dat Peek-A-Boo hier gewoonweg een hoop termen bij elkaar gooit in de hoop er toch maar een paar op te noemen die raak zijn. Maar neen, het is nu eenmaal zo dat tegenwoordig veel bands verschillende stijlen in hun muziek verwerken. Zo ook Rise dus, dat als basis een soort progressief/post-metal geluid heeft.

Aymeric Goutal verzorgt de vocals en doet dat afwisselend op een moderne nu-metal- en dan weer op een dromerige, warme manier. Heel fijn om naar te luisteren. About Oceans duurt acht minuten en begint dankzij de gitaren als progressieve rock met een warme stem, maar daarna horen we nu-metal met growls en shouts. De uitloper ontaardt in een stemmig stukje ambient. Misschien kun je Rise wel met Ayreon vergelijken wegens dezelfde diversiteit en feeling. Maar om het kort te houden: met Resilience heeft Rise een gaaf debuut gemaakt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2016


11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience 11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience 11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience

Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!
16
07
Today, Blutengel released their brand-new Album 'Erlösung - The Victory of Light'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My