tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman

ROB VAN EYCK

The Afterman

MovieCult movies
CultSexploitation

[55/100]   

Zeno Pictures
28/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Can someone tell me what’s going on with these film critics? I mean, saying that Erik Van Looy who paved all ways for the contemporary Flemish cinema is really too much to take. Have these gentleman never heard the name from Rob Van Eyck: the rebel from Zichem? I guess not and if they do, they’re probably too narrow minded to give him any credits. Nah good, this director always has been excluded from the hall of fame that is created by film critics. Not that he cares. He can claim that he was the first film maker who was able to sell a Belgian movie to more than 30 countries. In Japan alone, there was a pressing from 600.000 videotapes from this cult gem.

You don’t need to order a ticket to go the country of the rising sun as the Belgian company Zeno Pictures has released this cult classic. You don’t understand one word of Flemish, you say? No problem either as there isn’t one world of dialogue included in here.

The story is set somewhere in this world (probably his hometown) after the atom bomb has fallen. A disturbed mature guy (Jacques Verbiest) has lived isolated in a bunker. After having sex with hisdead mother in the morgue (according to Van Eyck, this is a reference to Oedipus) he enters the wide world and meets a very pretty lady (Franka Ravet) who is tortured and violated by her boss as a slave. The two run away together.

It’s funny, but nothing happens in this movie, apart from some torture and of course lots of seks. And yet, how limited the story line is, you can say that Van Eyck created a real cult classic that can be compared to Mad Max (but without an annoying Mel Gibson and definitely more X-rated scenes!).

Didier BECU
28/10/2014


NL

Wat is er toch aan de hand met die filmjournalisten? Ik bedoel, beweren dat Erik Van Looy het pad heeft geëffend voor andere Vlaamse cinema? Hebben deze heren nog nooit gehoord van Rob Van Eyck: de rebel uit Zichem? Nu goed, waarschijnlijk hebben ze dat niet en als ze de naam kennen dan vertikken ze het gewoon om er iets over neer te pennen. Rob Van Eyck is immers nooit een graag geziene gast geweest binnenin de filmkritiek. Zelf mag hij er in ieder geval trots op zijn dat in tijden dat Vlaamse regisseurs zich alleen maar om Stijn Streuvels bekommerden, hij de eerste was die een Belgische film in Cannes aan meer dan 30 landen konden verkopen. In Japan alleen werden er 600.000 videotapes van deze cultklassieker gemaakt.

Je moet echter geen ticket naar het land van de rijzende zon bestellen om de klassieker in huis te halen, want hij is tevens te vinden op het Belgische Zeno Pictures op dvd. Het verhaal speelt zich af ergens op de wereld (wellicht een veld in Scherpenheuvel) nadat de atoombom is gevallen. Een gestoorde volwassen kerel (Jacques Verbiest) leefde jarenlang afgezonderd in een bunker. Na eerst seks te hebben gehad met zijn overleden moeder in het lijkenhuisje (volgens van Eyck een verwijzing naar Oedipus) betreedt de eenzaat de wijde wereld. Hij ontmoet gauw een zeer mooi meisje (Franka Ravet) die als slavin door een bruut wordt verkracht en vernederd. De twee vluchten samen weg.

Eigenlijk gebeurt er niets in deze film, behalve een heleboel neukpartijen. En toch is Van Eyck erin geslaagd om een geslaagde apocalyptische film neer te zetten. De film bevat geen dialogen, het enige wat je hoort is een bizarre (maar geslaagde) soundtrack die wellicht op een speelgoedsynthesizer is gecomponeerd. Cult van de bovenste plank! 

Didier BECU
28/10/2014


28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour